Electronics Vex Me, I Fix Them

in #tech3 years ago

When I turned on my burnout kiln the day after my previous post, this is what it did:

DSC_0074.JPG

It also didn't heat up. I tried it the next day, and the display just started showing flashing random numbers several times per second before eventually settling on this display again. When I tried it again today, it worked just fine, so I'm now in the process of firing another mould. Maybe it just doesn't like the cold - electronics usually don't. Anyway, that's not the only thing I've had to deal with. There was also this:

LCD problem.PNG

The display on my 3D printer was acting up for no discernable reason. It seems to do this every time there is a power flicker, something that I used to be prone to until the electric company replaced a nearby transformer. Regardless, my printer is plugged into an uninterrupted power supply (UPS), this way it doesn't immediately shut off during the middle of a build (you have no idea how bad that sort of thing for SLA machines). Normally, the display issue would resolve itself after about twenty minutes, but this last time, it persisted. Luckily, the fix is rather simple: remove two screws on the bottom of the machine, pull off the display panel, and re-seat the ribbon cable. I recorded myself making this simple repair while listening to Russian synthwave:

Form 3 first repair.PNG

I will probably make this into a 3D print shop minisode and put it up on my BitChute channel in the next day or two. Previous videos (and some that aren't finished yet) have featured classical music, mostly Russian, but I have a rather bizarre taste in music that amounts to the auditory equivalent of the absolute culinary HERESY that is the practise of putting black olives and pineapple on pizza. Meanwhile, I'm cooking beef bulgogi (Korean barbecue) tonight. I'm weird, get used to it.

Since I wasn't able to do any casting for the past two days because my kiln was throwing a fit, I decided to occupy my time by printing more miniatures:

DSC_0077.JPG

DSC_0078.JPG

These were taken immediately after washing and drying, and the following pictures were taken after support removal and curing:

DSC_0084.JPG

DSC_0085.JPG

In addition to two tanks and a 5-tonne truck, I also printed another heavy tank painting jig, this way I can paint the KV-2 and T-10M at the same time. I may have some more miniature tank printing notes in the near future, since I finally have the support scheme all finalised for these different designs. After that, perhaps I'll move on to painting and proper miniature photography. I'm just spitballing here, seeing as I've been running about like a nutter for the past two days, now that I have a better mattress and I'm finally getting decent sleep (and not waking up with a sore back every morning).