I hope the Surface Duo survives

in #technology4 years ago

For the longest time I was hoping for a Surface Phone. I hate android, mostly I hate Google, and after a couple of sketchy moves around Chrome (auto login, etc) I switched to iOS.

I ONLY use a iphone, I don't like it, but hey, its not Google.

I love the surface pen, I love my surface, etc.

Then they announced the Duo

Then they released it.

The reviews are mixed and MKBHD does great reviews, and this one is no exception. The results, its a first gen device that I won't be buying.

I bought the first surface and thought it was the BEST tablet ever, and I have never bought another one. Tablets don't make sense to me, but I don't watch a lot of video, etc.

I really hope that the next version (or the 3rd) will bring me back. Sure, its android, but its also MS. I'm guessing my iPhone XS will last me a few more years, so I hope this will be my next device.

For a review that answers a few of the usability questions, here is Jenna Ezarik.

Sort:  

I loved the Surface Duo ever since the announcement. I see more use in that split screen and the LG Wing with its "T" shaped screen. The other foldables are too early and too bulky without much specific use. I also liked the dual screen add-on made by LG which basically turn the LG Velvet into a Surface Duo.

I really like the surface, but there is no way I will be a first generation buyer, it is too underpowered. I expect to get at least a couple more years out of my iPhone XS.

However, by Gen 2 or 3, maybe this machine can replace my phone and laptop for typical business tasks; and I can put some cash into a new compact mirrorless full frame camera to make up for the loss of a decent camera in my pocket.

However, by Gen 2 or 3, maybe this machine can replace my phone and laptop for typical business tasks

This is what I'm expecting as well.