Short thoughts from a dental room

in #teeth3 years ago (edited)

Today I went to the dentist. I know, that's not a big story to post about, but as always, whenever I have time to think, I let my mind wander wherever it feels like.

I'm waiting for @tanianuc to finish her dental cleaning and, since you can't chat while doing so, I found myself with a little bit more than half an hour free to browse memes or write on Hive. Guess which one won.

IMG_20210315_111142288_HDR.jpg

Personally, I'm convinced most of our diseases and illnesses could be prevented and cured by keeping a healthy lifestyle, excercising daily, eating properly and trying out natural remedies, but dental care is not one of them. Of course, eating healthy foods and avoiding carbs and sugar can and will help out our teeth, but those yearly dental cleanses and the occasional doctor visit to early fix cavities and such are necessary to mantain a good denture set.

I don't like coming to the dentist though, I think it's overpriced and a little bit overrated but hey, I wanna try and keep my teeth until I'm 70, at least while I'm able to.

Sort:  

I think it's overpriced and a little bit overrated but hey, I wanna try and keep my teeth until I'm 70

That's pretty much adult and smart thinking. I'm almost sure there's no person in the world that like dentists, but as you said, if you want healthy teeth, beside healthy habits, dentists are a must.
As a kid I fell asleep with a bottle of cocoa in my mouth, and until I was 7 yo. I had all of the teeth decayed.
That really bring bad memories when I remember all of the times I had to go to dentist. Thanks God I grew up in a man with nice habits, and now they're all healthy and shiny.
I haven't planned to share this with you but something made me do it haha 😅
Have a nice day man! Cheers!

I always say that dentistry is the only problem that I can't solve with a healthy lifestyle alone. I need money )))

I know, and in countries like ours it is a luxury to go to the dentist, I'm glad I live in a little town where paying him a visit is around 1/4 of the city's price!

Depends on the dentist. I think mine are pretty good, they see us as much as they need to see us (it's a bit more frequent for the kids with their plates) and interfere as little as possible (if they need to do fillings etc then obviously they do but otherwise they try not to over-prescribe anything or prescribe random things "just in case").

Meanwhile my mother in law's dentist was like "we can pull out these teeth if you like (the very back molars which had exactly nothing wrong with them) you don't need them anyway and this way they won't cause problems down the line".

They are expensive though x_x

I have not seen a dentist in a number of years. My teeth are an indication of that. At 60 I am now pretty much toothless. The teeth I do have a broken.

Guess when I am able to get out and about again, when this Covid thing is history, I will visit the dentist. The poor fellow ill probably have to have a stiff drink before working in my pie hole!

Oh man I get the pain, my dad is 61 and he's in the same boat as you, his problem was that he never wanted to spend money in dental care cause in Mexico it is super expensive.

I heard dental insurance in the US is pretty out of reach thus most people don't go to the dentist very often, I hope once Covid mania is over you can pay him a visit :D

Your dad is only a year older than me. Guess you can start calling me Tio-Dan! 😅

I am fortunate in that I have Veterans' Health benefits, but the Veteran's administration is not taking many none-life threatening appointments due to the pandemic. Eventually I hope to get around to getting my teeth fixed.