You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Media Consumption as an Addiction

in #television6 years ago

My family cannot fathom that I don't watch TV. This is not to say I never watch a show on a screen, but I don't watch broadcast television, and so the shows I do watch are limited. My mother literally just asked me this week what I DID for TV. I said if there was a show I really wanted to watch, sometimes I can watch on the website (like Vikings). Sometimes I borrow DVDs from the library. Sometimes I buy episodes on my Kindle. For the last season of GoT, I literally signed up for a free month trial of Amazon Prime and a free one week trial of HBO attached to that, on the last week of the season, and yeah, binge watched it, then cancelled both. 😂😂
But then I go a long time without watching anything, or I rewatch certain shows I own either on my Kindle or on DVD (which I watch on a 15 year old iMac).
Ergo, I don't see commercials regularly and they are PAINFUL when I do. Last Yule, the relations were all talking not only about shows I hadn't seen but the commercials as though those were equally entertaining. When I said I hadn't seen one particular one everyone agreed was funny, my uncle said, "Do you even own a television?!!" I said, well, technically, but it's just for my Wii Fit, the last time I turned on the bunny ears was for the last season of Sherlock.
Once again, I was an alien in my family, and nobody knew what to say to me.
I think the addiction is so prevalent, it's the norm, and you're weird if you're not addicted too.

Sort:  

I didn’t even know kindle had movies... haha

I can enjoy commercials not because I’m so far removed from the culture which they are part of, I feel like they inform me a bit, kind of how they might inform an old person about the trends young people are into...but yeah they’re awful when they are a part of daily life.

Yep society is addicted and you are weird if you are not...exceptthere are so many people like us hiding here and there. Glad to meet as many as I can.