A Big Fat Hairy Downvote

in #thediarygame4 years ago

downvote.jpg

Hey all. I just received a big fat hairy downvote from the SteemIt Team for writing a fact based criticism of one of their games. So, I decided to hire a big fat hairy model and took a picture of a big fat hairy hand making a down vote symbol.

New users on HIVE (and similar platforms) have a problem that many of the automated activities on HIVE are regressive. That is they concentrate the rewards on insiders.

I think it is critical to have things like @hivebuzz which rewards users for participation.

"TheDiaryGame" is a prime example of a participatory event. Participants write a post a day and have a high chance of getting awards.

I've been suffering writers block. I decided to write a post a day, I walked over 10,000 steps and did a bike ride that involved 1km up a steep hill each day.

The game received 400-500 entries a day and made a great data set for analysis. I was only interested in the curation of the official curators and not of the audience at large.

I do not know how to access the blockchain directly, So I gathered data by crawling SteemIt.com and SteemD.com . I posted the data on my personal site. The table below shows the data broken into quintiles:

QuintilePct of PostsPct of CurationsPct of Reward
113.09%1.65%0.74%
215.85%8.27%4.78%
318.58%15.45%12.26%
424.84%27.19%25.25%
527.64%47.45%56.97%

This was a participatory event. The distribution of the rewards should be relatively flat. The chart at the bottom showed the official curation was extremely skewed.

Anyway, I think that HIVE is a great platform for running curated challenges.

Hive is built on a distributed transparent blockchain. That means that one can easily analyze the curation of different challenges.

I do not know how to access the HIVE data directly. It would be fun to create a formalized mechanism for analyzing curated events.

I want to emphasize that different events should have different profiles. An event asking for the best ink drawings should have a deep curve. A participatory event (like the Diary Game) should have a flatter curve.

I've given thought on the best way to run a curated challenge on HIVE. The event should have an external page that publishes the rules for the event. The curators should create a database with all of the entries in the event.

I would also be good to have web sites that publicize the events and that analyze the curation of the events. To put my HIVE where my big fat hand (no, that big fat hand could not possibly be my hand). Anyway to put my HIVE where my big fat hand is I started a curated challenge called GPSPhoto. This is the tag page.

I blogged about the downvote on another platform. This was an official downvote by the SteemIt Team. I don't mind getting downvotes. Downvotes often tell us more about the curator than the content. Receiving an official downvote for a fact based criticism simply shows that the people who took over SteemIt are low quality people who cannot take fact based criticism.

Anyway, I participated in The Diary Game because I wanted to force myself to write a post a day for a month and because I really believe that there is a need to have a few participatory challenges on the platform.

The key to making challenges successful is the creation of a mechanism to judge the curation of the challenge. The curation of a participatory challenge should be relatively flat. The graph shows that a dozen accounts received outsized curations. The table above shows that the bottom two quintiles received undersized curations. (Yes, I understand that different styles of challenges will have different curation patterns).

temp.png

I would like to thank SteemPeak.com and Steemd.com for keeping their sites alive. @peakd gets 10% of the curation of this post.