MY LOVE FOR PLANTAINS.

in #theherbalhive2 years ago (edited)

I remember the fist time I tasted plantain, it was the best feeling ever. From the aroma to the flavor bursting taste.

One faithful morning, when I was barely 10 years of age, my mum was preparing breakfast an immediately I perceived the aroma, I knew I was in Love, I fell in love with whatever magic she was making without even knowing what exactly it was and I wanted to have a taste so bad. I couldn’t wait for her to be done cooking, so I rushed down to the kitchen only to discover that she was frying some plantains.

Eager to have a taste, I moved closer to where she placed the already fried pieces. That first bite felt like heaven, I knew from there that this is what I will love forever, it became my favorite food. Plantains, I said to myself, I will never trade you for anything!

That is the story of how I met plantain, let me tell you why I love plantain; Plantain is said to be a member of the banana family and can be eaten either ripe or unripe ( Plantains are widely eaten in Africa). Plantain plant is a herb that grows from an underground stem or rhizome. Plantains are rich in various vitamins and minerals like magnesium, potassium, vitamin C, K and A, e.t.c.

2CE16B58-CE55-4DFB-B707-13557E33085A.jpeg source

Plantains can serve various purposes such as :
• Weight Management
• Antioxidants
• Nutrition
• Digestive Health
• Good for the heart

Surprisingly, plantain and plantain leaves have amazing benefits for the skin, health and hair. Plantain leaves can be used to cure certain health conditions such as cold, flu and fever. It also have antibacterial, ant-irritant and antiseptic properties. Plantain leaves can also be made into tea which is said to help with indigestion, heartburn and ulcers when taken in.

534C3B46-DEAD-48BD-A9E1-5E2EE105B005.jpeg source

Also, plantain leaves can be used for insects and snake bites externally, as well as for rashes and cuts.
Plantain can also help in reducing the effects of scarring , remember when you where young and you probably fell off your bike and got a cut? And the scar is still there decades later? Plantain leaves can help reduce the chances of scarring.

86BBCCC2-4E42-467D-A962-029A90866D3A.jpeg source

Additionally, plantain leaves can be use to treat acne using products that contain plantain leaves to be applied which aids in reducing inflammation thereby reducing the chances of getting acne.
source

I can go on and on about the numerous health benefits of plantain and it’s leaves and also give you all countless reasons why I love Plantains but I will have to stop here because it never ends. Ensure to keep in touch with this space to find out more.

Also note that, plantains can be bought in local markets and easily found in grocery stores. Plus, plantains are quite cheap and a bunch can be gotten for less than a dollar(<1$). Yes, less than a dollar.
As for myself, I just got back from the market and guess what I came home with? Plantains of course.

I got a bunch for less than a dollar and I will fry some of it and it will serve as my dinner tonight. You can join me if you like. I will try to share a post with pictures of my plantains when I am done cooking .

Thank you for reading!