Polar plunge Florida style

in #theweekend2 years ago


It is unseasonably cold in Florida today. We hit 30° overnight, so I decided to do something I’ve never done: the polar plunge.

The polar plunge involves jumping into water under 60° and swimming around in it. The water for me, seen below, was a crisp 56-58°.

F58F1BCE-2AC7-4A58-A142-64CC5FFF3154.jpeg

Here is the video of me doing it. I wanted to do two minutes in the water but could manage only 30 seconds.


I hear there are plenty of health benefits to doing a polar plunge, including anti-inflammatory properties, lower blood pressure and clear mind. Here’s to hoping that this is true!

But I do tell you, it feels great after warming up and you are very alert. Hopefully I’ll get another opportunity this year in Florida.

@jgullinese