The Writers' Block: Headed to Gatlinburg

in #thewritersblock6 years ago (edited)

It’s finally about to happen! Almost ten months after we started as a small channel in the @minnowsupport Discord, The Writers’ Block is about to have our first real-life meetup. We’ve picked Gatlinburg, Tennessee, as the place to make it happen, because it’s a fun family resort area and easily within driving distance of several Block leaders, as well as the developer who’s coming in to present what very well may be the future of both TWB and Steemhouse Publishing. This came about as a direct result of the recent Alliance meetup in Nashville, concurrent with the filming of several # hotsorshots episodes with @jonny-clearwater. It just goes to show what active networking can accomplish!

My co-admin for The Writers’ Block, @gmuxx, has booked a flight into Knoxville for this event. It will be his first trip into the U.S. Read more about that HERE. This whole idea of world travel is so new to us that getting a VISA waiver took him a bit by surprise, although he definitely succeeded in getting one. As for me, I’m wondering if any electrical appliances he might happen to bring along would even work with our outlets. Ah, well … # firstworldproblems.

If you had asked me eight months ago if I envisioned this type of possibility for The Writers’ Block, I would have said YES! Absolutely. We’ve known from almost the beginning that we have something special. In fact, we’re right on schedule with my predictions about how we’d grow and evolve. Granted, I didn’t know all the “hows” at the time, but I did know the “whats,” “whens,” and “whos.” Now, the technology has arrived to give us exactly what we need for success as the industry’s first crypto-backed publishing house. This dovetails with recent announcements from Steemit, Inc., and pending hardforks. We couldn’t have planned it better if we tried.

As of now, the cabin is filled to capacity, with a few of our Block members planning to stay in local hotels. However, this doesn’t mean we won’t welcome anyone who wishes to hang out with us during the trip. If you live within travel range, by all means come and join us. You’ll have to find accommodations, but that’s not very difficult in a busy tourist town like Gatlinburg.

For anyone unfamiliar with this part of Tennessee, the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge/Sevierville/Cove area has a very broad spectrum of attractions. Those who enjoy unplugged nature and history will enjoy features like The Cove. Adventure lovers will find amusement parks like Dollywood to be right up their alley. Shoppers will enjoy downtown Gatlinburg and the outlet malls in Sevierville. Mini golf and go-cart tracks abound. But one of the best parts of all is the scenic beauty that’s everywhere in that area. I would love to see a whole group of our Writers’ Block folks to show up and enjoy the weekend with us.

Sort:  

A couple of these pics look familiar.

I’d say they do!!

You should really start posting more of yours. That way people like me don’t have to steal them to get them seen.

(He’s my husband, y’all. Don’t call Steemcleaners. LOLOL)

You're going to have so much fun! Wish I could be there. I'd love to explore this area. But I'm glad to be part of TWB, and look forward to all the updates! Also, nice work updating the witness footer. Keeping that awareness growing!

Love Gatlinburg. I cant remember the name but theres an awesome breakfast spot right when you get into pigeon forge leaving gatlinburg. You will probably see a line outside.

Hi @rhondak, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or someone you think needs more notice.

badass!

I knew we would be creating something special all those months back, but never realised quite how special. I am beyond excited to meet some of our wonderful members and further cement those friendships built during the course of our growth.

I'm hoping I can make it! I'd love to meet everyone.

The location looks beautiful, and I've never been to the eastern part of the state.

As I sit here at Westgate resort in Gatlinburg--I must warn you not to agree to any "tours" of westgate. My mothers an owner--and these tours are NOT 90 minutes--they can be upwards of 4 hours and pushy.

That said, its a nice place to stay if you can afford it.

I recommend the aquarium (group rates!), you can see live bears at a general store--but I didnt quite like it..the way people pester them, etc. Theres lots of shopping in Pigeon forge now--and The local goat is supposed to be AMAZING, just somewhat high (I looked at a menu with entrees about 20$ each)

If you are a nature buff--go into the gatlinburg welcome center--theres TONS of information about which trails to take and campgrounds, waterfalls, and water access. Theres a new place right at the start of gatlinburg that will take you up the mountain to a bunch of shops and a fire memorial site.

Yay! Much and continued success to you and #TWB and all that is yours. I have rarely been so blessed as I have by your good company =)

Thanks!

I miss you around TWB, VC. Please come hang out with us any time. Your participation in the sci fi contest is part of our history. That story . . . still waow, after all this time.

Thanks, @rhondak, for explaining this & congratulations on your Big Adventure 🤗

Wishing you/us best of luck in the future!

Here's to you being part of that future. :-) We're going to keep the creatives alive on this platform if it's the last thing we do. :-)

I would really like that, thanks, for saying so _/|\_ Lately, it's almost a daily challenge not to get demoralized and throw in the towel...