Sort:  

Today, I want to bring you a little medley of one of my favourite musicians. Many will know his popular stuff but he has now gone back to obscurity. He designed the songs to be hits so that he could get himself financially secure and then go off and play in the funfare of many other styles of music. Joe Jackson was classically trained and in the same class as Annie Lennox at The Royal Academy of Music'. After completing college figured he would use his knowledge to write music which would fit in with the New Wave sound that was popular at the time. He hit the ground running with ' Is she really going out with him'

Really? I never knew that at all about Joe. I love learning more about artists and musicians through #ttt posts, so thanks for educating me about Joe. Wasn't he the clever buachaill by purposefully designing a few hits to fund his real projects - respect.

It is so interesting to hear how he reinterprets his old music.

That is brilliant and instead of belting out the tried and tested again and again and AGAIN, he mixes it up, that's very clever.

I had hoped to see him again this year in the Olympia in Dublin but unfortunately, the concert got cancelled at the last minute. Believe me, if you get a chance to see this guy at work, grab it.

Ah shite man, pity about that, hopefully he'll get over again soon, and I will be sure to keep an eye out for him myself also.