Efficacy of Tithing

in #tithe3 years ago

I know Tithing to Christians can be very confusing. It’s not really easy to drop a tenth of your earnings monthly but over time, it becomes easier and a responsibility one never wants to shelve because it has a lot of benefits which is better experienced than being told. — I benefit from Tithe as God always shows up for me, it’s so amazing how despite my unfaithfulness He is always there to pick me up and put me on my feet.

I got in a conversation this morning about tithes and I decided to drop this here as I believe it’s relevant.

He (the person I was conversing) claimed Tithing is only mentioned in the Old Testament and since our doctrines say we are in the era of grace, we should skip tithes since Christ never preached Tithes (per say).

True, Christ didn’t preach Tithe but He did refer to it in Matthew 23:23 which says,

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices–mint, dill and cumin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law-justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.”

This simply means As important as Tithe is, so is Justice, Mercy and Faithfulness. They walk hand-in-hand.

That’s the meaning that I received. Tithing works for me and I will never stop ✋. My heart when giving it is what matters not how it was spent.
image.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @ifeoluwaunusual! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!