Problems with accessing Hive.blog anonymously using Tor browser

in #tor4 years ago

I am always using Tor browser to do anything on Hive.blog (and any related app under Hive.io), even if I am just going to read some posts.

These are the problems that occur to me while using Tor browser for Hive.blog:

  1. Opening another tab for Hive.blog does not retain my login session, though the original tab where I logged in still remains logged in.
  2. Posting something or voting on posts takes a lot of time (more than 3 seconds).
  3. Loading content from Hive.blog takes a lot of time (again, more than 3 seconds), while other websites load fast even in Tor browser.

I am not sure if these problems also occur to other Tor users, because I never used a regular web browser to visit Hive.blog (even while using a VPN).

Can you share your own experiences with using Tor browser by commenting on this post? How about while using VPN? Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

try peakd.com - should work without any problems

peakd.com seems to fix my #1 problem (wherein a new tab ignores my logged-in session on another tab). I am yet to know if my problems in #2 and #3 would be solved, although that means I have to move from hive.blog to peakd.com. I know that both are Hive (d)apps and are based on the Hive blockchain, but I learned a lot while I was using Hive.blog.

Thanks for your suggestion!

I noticed a problem with peakd.com while using Tor browser. Even though all the tabs share the same login session, I get logged out (on all tabs) every few minutes. I liked peakd.com's voting slider and more tips though.

just use hive keychain extension? should fix the problems

The Tor browser warns against installing any kind of browser add-on/extension, for fear that it would compromise my anonymity (such as leaking my IP address). This anonymity of mine allows me to say anything (except spam and hateful ones) that I would never say with a non-anonymous or semi-anonymous account.

Still, thank you for your suggestions.

You should crosspost into the "askhive" community, maybe they can help you :D

I posted on the "AskHive" community at https://hive.blog/trending/hive-138583, but I did not get any answer after 4 days. I also saw that there are only 4 members (including me) as of this time of writing. I am starting to believe that I posted on the wrong page.

Maybe you mean that I should post on https://hive.blog/trending/askhive? The Hive.blog front-end can be confusing sometimes.

Might have been the wrong community.
I dont use the hive.blog, I use peakd, but ye sorry :p