In any incomprehensible situation, go travelling. Inspiring Slovenia. Part 3: The Adriatic Sea in Piran

in #travel7 years ago


 Sea. The sea was surging with waves higher than human height, loudly crashing to the stone embankment and then slowly, but inevitably, running up to my feet to kiss them tenderly. I stood spellbound with such a solid, multifaceted element.




 The story of "You've never seen the ocean?" from the movie "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" is not about me. I have seen the sea and the ocean many times, but I've never felt them before, as I was feeling the waves of the Adriatic. I did not see in them such a lively, unique display of forms, colors and light.




 The sun was setting, the evening light up in flames and the water became a mixture of pink, red, purple and ultramarine. Gradually everything went dark and the boundless space above the water became like a space with dark molten lead or mercury spilled in it.




 You could say that my metaphor is completely inappropriate, because there is no molten lead or mercury in space, but come to Piran, a city on the coast of Slovenia, go to the embankment during a storm at night and perhaps you will see, just like me, how the ocean of dark liquid metal ripples in space.


 In the morning the sea will be entirely different: intensive turquoise with a bright transparent sky above it. The sun will spill yellow on the roofs of houses and sides of about fifty yachts swaying near the pier and ringing in the wind with music of masts resembling the sound of Chinese bells.




 All this is so beautiful that the only thing that remains for me to be in harmony with the wind, the sun and crystal clear water is to wear a white dress, a hat and go for a walk around the narrow streets of the city, weaving into a colorful labyrinth filled with comfort, inspiration and the feast of life...

 (The previous parts of my story about Slovenia can be found here: about Ljubljana and about Bohinj).
Sort:  

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @awispa! For more information, click here!

Phenomenal. Thanks for posting!

good and amazing place @awispa
upvoted and followed, if you have time dont forget to visit my blog

Hi there. this is my first comment for you