We are safe and sound :)

in #travel4 years ago

WhatsApp Image 20200811 at 5.25.22 PM.jpeg

Dear family,

I think it's gonna be like the quick message that you send to your loved one when you arrived to your destination.

For now, I am still trying to figure what will be my purpose on this blockchain. As some of you know, I made a living of writing, singing and performing on the previous fork and like many, I had to find a "real" job to make ends meet when SHTF.

In February 2017, we made the bold decision to move from South Africa to France with my wife and 3 children, and It took us more than 2 years and a half to make it happen. At the time, I made an (unfruitful) gofundme page, try to find any way possible to move my family 12000km away from where it all started, no matter what it would take.

It wasn't easy, knowing that it was the first trip oversea and outside South Africa for @lionmom (hopefully she activates her account too), the first airplane for the kids, a lot of other unknown factors to take in consideration.

Out of despair, I turn to the only community I knew, which was you guys, and asked for help, which came in many forms. It was heartwarming and a little bit surreal to have people from all over the world carrying about us like member of their own family, genuine care with no strings attached.

WhatsApp Image 20200811 at 5.25.33 PM.jpeg

At the time I offered my "yet to be recorded album" to anyone that would help us cross the world and help us make the move as a token of gratitude.

Obviously, it didn't happen right away. It was a slow grueling process, that I will probably detail in a future post, but right now, I just want to be thankful.

We went through a shit storm, and we made it. Even better, we leveled up; and are stronger than ever. That's the true spirit of survival. We used each bits of pain that we carry on our shoulder throughout the years, and use it as a fuel to make our dream come true.

First, to all the people that helped us (and everyone else too btw), because I am a man of my word, go check my 2 albums, pick the one you like and I will personally send you a digital copy. THANK YOU!
https://www.edprivat.com/music

You can also stream them on every platform that you want, if you really wish to support my work. My second album was recorded before, during and after the journey to France, and mastered by the talented @d-vine

That being said, I will probably make myself comfortable around here and have a look, i already see some familiar faces, and I wont miss an opportunity to connect with you all.

For now, no need to talk about the obvious turmoil thatshook the earth this year, like everyone else, it was a set back for us, but we finally got the farm and the land we've always known was waiting for us on the other side of the world.

The next step of our journey, will be to get our dogs who are still in South Africa. But as we already proved to ourselves that we can accomplish anything we set ourselves to do, we have absolutely no doubt that we will manage to get them in our new home by the end of the year.

WhatsApp Image 20200811 at 5.25.27 PM.jpeg

I haven't been much active on Instagram or Facebook until now, but I know how it works, you gotta be able to play on all fronts. especially in these days and times, and I really wanna gig through Europe this year, so we gotta up those numbers !

You can also send me a message on Discord if you want to catchup, still the same name ^^ and I am still the same Ed :)

Much love,

@edprivat

Sort:  

Do you know how happy it makes me to see you make your return with me? Well, not as happy as I’ll be when you get your dogs back and not as happy as I am for you and @lionmom and the starting line-up ya’all are toting around but happy nonetheless. 👍🏿

Nice to see you, Ed. Give our love to the family.

Thanks buddy !

I am a bit heartbroken we didn't manage to meet, but I know next time we will do things properly, even if it takes another year or two. Also send my love to Pura, and enjoy a well deserved rest ^^ and good luck on your next mission!

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Sounds like one hell of a journey!!! I couldn’t imagine going though all that... and here I was thinking moving my wife and kids from California to Washington was a “Big Deal”

God Bless!!

Thanks!

Well, from CA to DC there's also a big gap, a different culture, I am sure you are still adapting to these changes:)

We are a very adaptive specie, we tend to overthink the process, but people used to pack their shit on the back of a donkey and just go (sometimes they didn't make it all the way).

I know right... “Head toward the sun..” If they couldn’t pack it on a donkey... it got left behind.

Adapt and overcome...

Woh you’re back! Great to see you here man. Wow you’re in Europe now. I’m living in Portugal, probably semi permanently, looking to hopefully get some land here in the nearish future and dig in. Oh this is @shookriya. Maybe our paths will cross and we’ll get to do some jamming irl eh? More motivation to get my bass over here...

I never saw that message, sorry for the late reply buddy. How are you doing? How is the confinement in Portugal going?

pretty good actually, We just moved to a workaway at a bed and breakfast/eco retreat in south portugal a few days ago so we're busy getting settled and venus is going nuts with all the space to run around and the new people. we need to train her not to jump on people. shes small but she's always got muddy paws here...

It's pretty chill here. good vibes, working outside. It's super quiet here surrounded by cork oaks and mountains so it's much more our speed than the beach. I'm going to ask you how you're doing but wait till I read you're latest post =) It's been sitting in an open tab since last night but haven't quite settled down to it yet.

It took me a second to realise you did not talk about your wife hahaha. Glad to hear that you are settled, I am sure B and B in Portugal are amazing

Im not too far from you bro, we should meet up soon, you are very welcome to come spend few days also (if you don't mind children running everywhere).

THE MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION OF ALL: Did you finally get your bass back?