Dovecotes of Tinos

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_9227.JPG

Dovecotes (pigeon houses) are fortress-like stone structures with two levels, the lower of which were usually used by the owner as storerooms for agricultural products and tools while the upper floors were for pigeons. They are decorated with geometric patterns as well as with cypress trees and suns. Among the other Cycladic islands, in Tinos you will find the most impressive dovecotes.

The dovecotes are usually built in the countryside at well-chosen locations near cultivated areas and water, on the slopes of mountains. The oldest ones are believed to be from the 18th and the 19th century and it is said that the Venetians introduced the systematic breeding of pigeons as they considered their meat delicious.

Though no longer much in use, dovecotes are unique masterpieces and a trademark of Tinos!

IMG_9226.JPG

IMG_9229.JPG

IMG_9249.JPG

IMG_9324.JPG

IMG_9325.JPG

IMG_9314.JPG

IMG_9297.JPG

Source:
https://www.tinos.biz/culture/dove_gr.htm

Sort:  

Beautiful! Have you tried pigeon, errh, I mean dove, yourself? Is it delicious?

No, never!! I've never considered doves edible... They are in the same category as cats and dogs for me.. :) If they taste like chicken though, I would love some for lunch!

No, cats and dogs are both carnivores and probably not good to be eating them. But I have never met a carniverous dove.

Believe me I have met some!!! I'm not kidding... Many years ago I have seen 3-4 pigeons eating leftovers.. More specifically chicken wings!! :O In the city they have been mutated into "rats of the sky"...

OMG, did you really have to tell me? At least before I always thought that when I got pidgeon droppings on my windshield, it was organic!!!

hahah I'm so sorry... It seems that they are not that organic..... :D

I was told that these places were created so that people would meet and make love 🤣🤣🤣 and that pigeons was just an excuse!!!!

Oh really?? hahah That's also interesting!!! Maybe more interesting than the "breeding version".. :D

That's a fortress!! We got to start being careful, the doves might be rising against humanity and that's their stronghold!

krg556zoc7.png

I've never seen one of those in Portugal, but doves aren't that common in Portugal and pidgeons just nest in our roofs...

hhahaha You're right! We should be careful!! :D In Greece you mostly find dovecotes in islands.. But we do have many like MANY pigeons here!!

pote piges Tino???

Φέτος.. :))

Πότε πήγες εγώ πηγαίνω κάθε χρόνο....
Φέτος ήμουν από τις 3/8 μέχρι τις 14.... και όλα μου τα χρόνια πήγαινα εκεί και καθόμουνα τρεις τρεισήμισι μήνες...
Που έμενε στην πόλη ή σε χωριό?

Αλήθεια?? Τι ωραία!! Εγώ πήγα την προηγούμενη εβδομάδα.. Μέναμε στον Αγιο Ρωμανό!! :)) Έχω πάει αρκετές φορές αλλά μικρότερη και δεν θυμόμουν πολλά..