Salt Bar and Restaurant (in Da Nang) - A quiet respite in otherwise noisy Da Nang, Vietnam!

in #travel4 years ago

I had previously stated how the beaches in Da Nang can get a bit crowded and this is annoying. Well, it is my fault because I did actually choose to move to a city that has a million people in it. You can still get on the beach during certain times of day (like when the sun is at its strongest) with very little difficulty because the locals stay out of the sun.

So to get a more intimate experience you gotta travel a little bit out of the city to "have the place to yourself" and there is one particular area called An Bang Beach that has a bunch of restaurants and cafe's right on the beach and Salt, is one of them.

105389808_260525365221528_7040076217873536059_n.jpg

Salt, and the establishments similar to it all have the same method of attracting customers going on: If you eat and drink here you can use their facilities as a launching point to use the beach. I normally like to have a beer or some food when I am at the beach anyway, so this works out very nicely for me.

106123565_715656619001441_6004893004771120821_n.jpg

Now prices are a bit more expensive here than they would be at a pub or restaurant in Da Nang city but this is to be expected. It is quiet, there is no traffic, and you are literally right on the beach so if i have to pay 50% more for a beer in order to enjoy these aspects of the ambiance, it is a price I am willing to pay.

104896366_605137843455433_3813139467216370057_n.jpg

If you want, you can actually use the deck chairs right out on the beach which is also part of Salt. I don't know if you have to pay extra for this but i would imagine you do since that seems to be the system all up and down the beaches. It isn't much, something like $2 a person for the entire day.

The food at Salt is almost entirely foreign favorites and the menu seems to have an Australian feel to it.

106097666_745565786187775_3693821468843818412_n.jpg

I need a good fish and chips from time to time, and the one at Salt is the best one I have had in the region. The battering was done just perfect and the tartar sauce is clearly homemade. On a side not it is funny to me that every time i order a fish and chips, I normally end up regretting it by the time I am done with it. Something about how i don't think a person should consume that much oil / grease all at once but it's so tasty that I can't help it.

The area of An Bang has a lot of options available on it, but according to locals who have been here a lot longer than I have, Salt is one of the more popular ones for a reason. The also frequently host events that include live music and during high season they even go a bit upmarket with unusual dishes that you might not expect to see at a place with prices like theirs.

I would consider Salt to be mid-range as far as the prices are concerned and if it weren't for their location i would consider it to be overpriced. However, when you consider the amazing location, fantastic staff, and the lovely designs of the establishment in general, it is a tremendous value.

Here is their location including GPS coords

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

The meal looks healthy, although I've never tried anything like it. The beer in ice is a nice touch and I reckon it will cost a bit extra for that luxury.

i am sure that there isnt much about fish and chips that can be considered healthy. Maybe the salad.

That looks like a nice beach! I hope there's not many people around as I hate crowded spaces.

Interesting to see that food being served over there. It's exactly the same as they serve over here. 😁

there was almost no one there and according to my friends that live in this area, there never are many people there. This is the stark difference between Da Nang (where I live ) and Hoi An (about 10 km away)... one is touristy as all hell, the other doesn't even have any buildings over 4 stories tall or so - possibly because the downtown area is a UNESCO site.

50% up on prices wow that's quite on the rise. Well salt seems rather lovely. Although I know of many people who would rather choose crowded places, but for me I feel I'll like a place as calm and cool as this place. The food looks good by all means.

pretty sweet looking place, that's for sure.

Sounds like a decent spot to avoid the crowds and also have some decent food and drink. I think paying extra is worth it for where they are situated. I think you are fortunate having a large selection to choose from and have settled in rather quickly.

i agree, a bit more is fine and these guys didn't go crazy with the markup... so i'm cool with that.

Nice to see someone enjoying themselves, beachfront with Fish-and-Chips...

I miss 'Arthur Treachers' fish and chip places here in the U.S. It might have been a Fast Food joint, but I liked it anyway.

this is going to sound a bit low-class but my favorite fish and chips that I have ever had was at Long John Silvers. loads of fried stuff served fast in a restaurant that looked like the interior of a boat...well, that is what it used to look like in the 80's. Do those still exist?

this is going to sound a bit low-class but my favorite fish and chips that I have ever had was at Long John Silvers.

No sweat...I'm low enough in the 'class' structure to have eaten there too :>) I'm not sure if they're still around? I don't remember seeing one for a while.

Hope you're doing well still, in Nam...

This looks like a pretty cool place to eat. The view is amazing how can you really beat that! The food looks really decent too. That fresh salad looks pretty amazing. That seems like a really smart marketing tool for them to keep people eating and drinking all day with the lounge chairs. If I knew I was guaranteed a spot to eat/drink and relax, I would for sure pay the couple of bucks.