Longing places (english - german)

in #travel5 years ago

Kos1-start.jpg
Longing places

After a few busy days, I come once again to write a post.

It is May. The month in which we usually spend 2-3 weeks on the Greek island of Kos. I've already written about some islands in previous posts that we visited in recent years. But the island of Kos is a longing place for us. It is not exotic or spectacular. It just became a second home for us.
We met really great people there and spent awesome hours with them. It even led to learning Greek, which is not easy because of the Cyrillic script.
What we love about Greece? It's the people, the music, the food, the extremely blue sea of ​​the Aegean, the special light and much more. But most of all it's the people who impressed us. There are two events that I will probably never forget and about which I would like to report briefly.

The first nice experience was when we walked through a village and greeted an old man standing in a driveway with a 'Kalimera sas'. That means a good day in a salutation for a third person, which is used in Greece for older people. The old man greeted us gently and gestured us to wait a moment. He disappeared into the courtyard and returned with a freshly cut rose, which he presented to my wife. And I have to say, I am still very touched today.

The second experience is a few years back. At that time we had decided on an apartment, and early in the morning I was on my way to a bakery to get bread. On the way an old man beckoned me to come into the yard. There he gestured to me to help him push his older car into the barn. Of course, I grabbed and wanted to say goodbye again. He grabbed my arm and led me into the house. In the house he introduced me to two older women and asked me to sit at a table in the kitchen. After some instructions from him to the two women they immediately began to get plates, cutlery and glasses. In no time the table was covered with bread, olives, cheese, sausage and wine, and I was asked to please access. Of course, I did that too, because if I had refused, it would have been an insult.

This is Greece. Certainly, this hospitality has been partially lost among the younger generation but still exists in most parts of the population.

Afterwards I would like to show some pictures of Kos, which we carry in our hearts.

Sehnsuchtsorte

Nach einigen arbeitsreichen Tagen komme ich wieder einmal dazu einen Post zu verfassen.

Es ist Mai. Der Monat in dem wir uns normalerweise für 2-3 Wochen auf der griechischen Insel Kos aufhalten. Ich habe in vorherigen Posts bereits über einige Inseln geschrieben, die wir in den letzten Jahren besucht haben. Aber die Insel Kos ist für uns ein Sehnsuchtsort. Sie ist nicht exotisch oder besonders spektakulär. Sie ist einfach eine zweite Heimat für uns geworden.

Wir haben dort wirklich tolle Leute kennengelernt und unglaublich schöne Stunden mit ihnen verbracht. Es hat sogar dazu geführt Griechisch zu lernen, was auf Grund der kyrilischen Schrift nicht einfach ist.

Was wir an Griechenland so lieben? Es sind die Leute, die Musik, das Essen, das extrem blaue Meer der Ägäis, das besondere Licht und vieles mehr. Aber vor allem sind es die Leute die uns am meisten beeindruckt haben. Es gibt zwei Begebenheiten die ich wohl nie vergessen werde und über die ich kurz berichten möchte.

Das erste schöne Erlebnis war als wir durch ein Dorf wanderten und einen alten Mann, der in einer Hofeinfahrt stand mit einem 'Kalimera sas' begrüßten. Das heißt soviel wie guten Tag in einer Anrede für eine dritte Person, welche in Griechenland für ältere Personen angewandt wird. Der alte Mann grüßte freundlich zurück und gab uns mit Gesten zu verstehen, dass wir einen kleinen Moment warten sollten. Er verschwand im Hof und kehrte mit einer frisch abgeschnittenen Rose zurück, die er meiner Frau überreichte. Und ich muss sagen, ich bin heute noch sehr gerührt.

Das zweite Erlebnis liegt ein paar Jahre zurück. Wir hatten uns damals für eine Ferienwohnung entschieden und ich war früh morgens unterwegs zu einer Bäckerei um Brot zu holen. Auf dem Weg winkte mir ein alter Mann doch bitte in den Hof zu kommen. Dort gestikulierte er mir, dass ich ihm dabei helfen sollte, sein etwas älteres Auto in die Scheune zu schieben. Ich packte natürlich an und wollte mich wieder verabschieden. Da packte er mich am Arm und führte mich ins Haus. Im Haus stellte er mir zwei ebenfalls ältere Frauen vor und bat mich an einem Tisch in der Küche Platz zu nehmen. Nach einigen Anweisungen von ihm an die beiden Frauen fingen diese sofort an Teller, Besteck und Gläser zu holen. In kürzester Zeit war der Tisch mit Brot, Oliven, Käse, Wurst und Wein gedeckt und ich wurde aufgefordert doch bitte zuzugreifen. Ich tat dies natürlich auch, denn wenn ich es verweigert hätte, wäre dies eine Beleidigung gewesen.

Das ist Griechenland. Sicherlich ist diese Gastfreundschaft bei der jungen Generation zum Teil verloren gegangen aber in weiten Teilen der Bevölkerung immer noch vorhanden.

Anschließend möchte ich noch ein paar Bilder von Kos zeigen, die wir in unserem Herzen tragen.

Kos1.jpg
Kos2.jpg
Kos3.jpg
Kos4.jpg
Kos5.jpg
Kos6.jpg
Kos7.jpg
Kos8.jpg
Hotel1.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful place, I could live here without thinking twice after your lovely description about the people and the way things are.

Blue and White together always means you are in Greece by what I have learned, a place to add to my wish list @ikarus56

Thanks for passing by, @joanstewart. Yes, Greece is worth to visit.

When I saw white and blue ... It made me a great pleasure to discover your love for Greece. Because I have the same love. I have posted every day in May about Thassos Island. I wasn't in Kos but because of your posting I can say I saw a little of it. Thank you!

Thank you, @bluemoon. Thassos is on our list too, as already visited a lot of Aegean islands.

Yes, I understand you were on many islands. I cannot say I envy you ... I'm glad for you! I was only in Thassos. I hope you will like the island.

Those photographs are simply stunning! Looks just like something from one of those "vacation" brochures! I must also add, that your addition of both English and Deutsch was very well done. Also... I just have to comment on one of the things you said:

This is Greece. Certainly, this hospitality has been partially lost among the younger generation but still exists in most parts of the population.

Citation

You are not alone in this!! Even in the States, it is still the same lol... more focus on... "me", "PlayStation", and "cell phones"... Your story of helping the gentleman push his car reminds me of a similar memory of mine while I was in the Service...

When we were not out in the field doing military business, I would walk for several blocks away to see the scenery. Mind you... this was in Schweinfurt, Germany. So then; this particular day, a gentleman saw me walking... my attire was black sweat pants, black leather jacket, high and tight hair cut... and headphones! Anyway... I guess the gentleman was... fascinated? He invited me into his home, shared some fresh bread, cheese, and wine... THEN... took me for a tour of his immense vineyard. Sadly... the photos were taken with a camera that was stolen before I left the service. Perhaps we should send some of these teenagers to the opposite ends of the world lol... reality check!

Anyway... thank you, my friend, for taking us with you on your special journey...

Thank you so much for passing by @wesphilbin. These memories stay forever in our mind. I wish all egotists should have such an experience, maybe that would change their attitude a bit. Many thanks.

That is certainly a beautiful place, and I see why you like to visit each year! Love the photos and the stories, too! 😊

Yes, it's a beautiful place to stay for holidays.

Very nice pics.......good narrative....keep it up.

Thank you so much.

That water is so blue and inviting. I want to swim in the sea.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, @abitcoinskeptic the blue of the Aegean Sea is special.

I love the picture that you paint with your words and your camera certainly picked up the beauty of Greece. Isn't it funny that in each case it was an elder that showed you kindness and hospitality? I am not sure that the younger generation can be all at fault, but a product of their environment and how they were brought up. I'd like to think that with careful teachings and manners instilled, that my children which show people the respect that they deserve. Not only the respect but the kindness.

I have to believe that you were attached to a point that you will go on to show many the same brand of hospitality and kindness. I like to be able to be free to show it as I have been shown many times in my life the same kind of kindnesses and hospitalities. The very first time as an adult, I was driving through Poland and picked up hitchhikers as there were fewer cars than there are now. Many people walked everywhere and it wasn't because they enjoyed it, but it was more of a necessity. I picked up a hitchhiker after a day of working and even though neither one of us understood each other's language, we did well with gestures. In the end, I dropped him off at his home which was 45 minutes away. I cannot imagine him walking all that way, nor did I know that it was that far. Anyway, he brought out a homemade sausage that his wife gave him for lunch and he saved it and honored me with it for my gesture. It was, as you say a necessary thing to take it, otherwise an insult would have been made. I loved hearing your story and I love the fact that if enough people are touched by the thoughts of this, that they too will go out and share their heart. Thank you thank you thank you.

A most beautiful post.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Thank you so much @dswigle. In Greece, hospitality is deeply rooted. But there is already a small change in the younger generation. In Germany, the younger generation is more influenced by selfishness. When raising my daughter, I have always made sure that she shows respect for others. And she shows it, as far as I can tell. Hospitality is not as big here as in the south of Europe. But that is certainly in the history of our nation. However, the refugee crisis has shown that most of the population is willing to accept those who need help and to welcome them. I think the pictures went around the world in 2015 when Syrian refugees arrived in Germany after Hungary refused to accept them. A total of 890,000 refugees were registered this fall. In this special case, hospitality was also shown in Germany.

I actually remember that, and everyone on earth should. I think that Germans, in general, are not as demonstrative in this nature (my father is German) but that their respect is shown in a different manner. One that really counted for so much, in the case of the Syrian refugees.

I agree that hospitality in the south is much more open and demonstrated, but, I have no illusions. I can honestly say that I feel loved most places I go to and my heart becomes attached to their ways.

Thank you for the always awesome response.

I have to thank you for engagement.

Fabulous pictures Sir Norbert.
I also have some old Greek friends here in South Africa and one of them is a very close friend. You are right about their hospitality and their wonderful ways to thank a person that helped them.
Another great post here my friend!
Kalimera sas!

Thanks a lot, @papilloncharity. Yes, the Greek people are great. That's why we have spent about 50+ holidays there in the last 30 years.

Wow! 50+ holidays?
In 17 years at Papillon we have had about 6 short holidays Sir Norbert!
You are indeed a lucky guy!
Blessings!

I've changed my thinking of life after a near-death experience 23 years ago. I try to live my life and as for me and my wife love traveling, we do this as often as we can. We don't need luxury, so we spend our money on the holidays.

I can see why you hold that place so dear! Of course it is stunning in those views, but hospitality like that is so rare to find these days. Those are some wonderful memories to take with you always. :)

Yes, @plantstoplanks. These memories you can't buy and they stay forever in my mind.

Congratulations @ikarus56! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks a lot.

Hi, @ikarus56!

You just got a 2.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks a lot.

Greece is beautiful, love the color of it. And the two incidents you talked about make it sound so good - the people part. 🙌

Greece is a country which is worth to visit.

Wunderbare Fotos, Wasser ist himmelblau, diesen Sommer planen wir Ende Juni einen Urlaub in Griechenland.

Posted using Partiko Android

Viel Spaß in Griechenland. Wir fühlen uns dort sehr wohl.

I don't mind sitting there the whole day with that view!!

Yes, @joelai, same to us. We often sit in a taverna and watch the sea while drinking wine or coffee.

That's so nice!!

🎁 Hi @ikarus56! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Coloring My World Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you so much @tipu.