Sunset over Canadian Prairie

in #travel4 years ago

I caught this sunset at 35,000 feet on my way from Calgary to Edmonton. Canadian prairie was still covered in snow in March and the lakes were frozen too. I later saw that the warning signs for thin ice stay up all year round - I guess the summer is too short to make sense for them to be removed.

20200911_012522.jpg

I didn't see many planes this year and I find it so unusually quiet, especially after having lived close to Dubai airport where I had the "privilege" of listening to the planes take off every 3 minutes. Today I only saw today were the geese flying south. They know the prairie will soon turn white again.

Sort:  

Beautiful beautiful beautiful

Thank you, I'm glad you like the photo. I wish I was able to catch a wider angle so you could see how far it stretched but this the best I could do through the small window of a propeller plane.