Slow Travel in Venice, Italy: Day 1

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

After a hectic last year, I needed a reset. Covid doesn't let us freely take the plane to any random place, so it took me a while to find the right spot to go to. It turned out that these circumstances were ideal to go to Venice. This virus made this city, normally overrun by tourists, a once in a lifetime opportunity. I booked a one-way ticket to Venice and booked a long stay AirBnB...

Day 1: The flight was shorter than expected. "Why don't I fly here more often?" Crossed my mind. I landed in Venice, just in time before they decided to require a corona test from every traveler from the Netherlands. The easiest way to get to the apartment is to take a boat from the airport. If only every airport would have that!!

It was far from busy in the boat which made social distancing a piece of cake. With my facemask on I arrived at my stop some 30+ minutes later. Perfect!! Unexpected moment, while on the boat, a sudden familiar feeling brought me back to my school trip to Venice that I took almost 25 years ago. Was this Venice's way to say "welcome back" to me?

My host picked me up from the boat to walk me to the apartment. It was exactly where I expected it to be. Based on the photos of the interior, the view through the window, and the review comments (close to supermarket...etc etc) I did some sleuthing with Google maps and managed to find the spot. It's harder to find the actual address of this place though. So I can't tell you where to mail your postcards yet...

I ran into some local kids smoking weed just outside my front door. They told me it was illegal in Italy (the smoking, not the running). I told them to come to Amsterdam. They told me that school in Italy now pretty much sucks due to Covid. They were cool. I am hoping I will see them again because I am very curious about what teenage life here is like...

After a quick visit to the supermarket, I asked a local what restaurant to go to in the area. They do food delivery here, but all I found so far is that Deliveroo isn't working. The restaurant recommendation made me run into a few amazing Dutch people that live part-time in Venice. They told me about their amazing non-standard life. And I even got invited to his birthday party that will be happening next week. On top of that, I had one of the best steaks that I have had in years.

I didn't do any exploring yet. But got a few very interesting recommendations. I am almost getting nervous that I won't have enough time to see & experience it all.

_DSC9326.jpg

Sort:  

Yay great to see a post and the beginning of your trip sounds great!

It's been a while!! I really need to relearn blogging and photography again (Plus Lightroom)! But I sure missed posting on Steem, now Hive!

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP