[Iceland summer 7] Amazing southeast with icebergs, glacial lakes, volcanic terrain, and pleasant camping!

in #travel4 years ago

image


You may be richer than me, but you will never be free like me



Hello.
I'm traveler @rbaggo
who is finding 'Humanism' in
'Capitalism'





Summer of June 2016
14 days in Iceland.




4-2.JPG

2 of 4th day

[Island Southeast of Island]


These areas are located in southeastern Iceland.

  • Laufskálavarða: Volcano Terrain
  • Skaftafell: Glacier
  • Jökulsárlón: glacier lake
  • Höfn: The city where the lobster festival is held

People usually plan to travel to Iceland for a week or two. Along with the Golden Circle, the southeastern region is one of the must-visit destinations.




GOPR8166.JPG

I spent time in a beautiful Vik. You can walk on black beaches due to volcanic ash, look around the village and visit a church, one of Vik's landmarks, from there to the village below, in a field of flowers and trees.

Restart hitchhiking to southeast of Iceland. I was turning counterclockwise. My personal opinion is that it's easier to catch hitchhike cars because there are more tourists going to the Golden Circle and the southeast from the capital city, Reykjavik.




07062874.JPG

The next driver to give me a ride, was a couple of Jeffs and Josseline from the United States. On their way, they stopped when they found a place they liked, so I visited where I didn't know and expected.




The first place we traveled was the volcanic topography. The lava hardened into a rough rock, and the tourists who visited, have built a tower with stones one by one.




It's called Laufskllavarða. In Icelandic, 'ð' refers to the pronunciation of 'd'. I didn't know this place, but suddenly Jeff stopped the car and said, "What's in here?"




GOPR8174.JPG

Jocelyn also began to build stones. I don't know who started it, but it looked cool as the stone towers lined up one by one.




07052725.JPG

They set a GoPro on top of the car, record it while moving, and edit it. He kept the remote control function on his cell phone. He showed it to me later and it was great. I think it's a great idea to capture all the beautiful images of Iceland.




This is the way to Skaftafell, an iceberg further east of here, and Jökulsárlon, a glacier lake. I suddenly wanted to take a picture, so I focused on the rearview mirror, I got such a great picture! I'm so satisfied with it.




07052731.JPG

There's a camping ground at the place where you go to see the iceberg Skarftafell. The camping car is available to be filled with water, electric charging equipment, and people can take a shower(2.5 USD per 5 minutes). Usually, there's an activity in this Skarftafell where walk on glaciers. Therefore, the camping site is nearby.




Jökulsárlón is a floating lake of melted Vatnajökul glaciers. I came here in the winter in 2015. The sky was dark and blue, the ice was blue, the lake was blue... It just felt like the whole world was blue. Maybe because it was winter, it might have been because the sun went down early.

In the summer, the glaciers melted more and disappeared, but it looked nice to see more clearly and in detail.




I was wondering if I could take a picture under the glacier in the ice lake, so I put the GoPro under the water. But I don't see any glaciers. My hands are freezing...




We arrived at today's destination, Höfn. We went to camping site, and checked the fee. The cost for one person was about 10 USD, and I actually have never paid for camping, couple could also though same as me. Jeff and Jocelyn had no reason to go camping because they had mats in the backseat to sleep in the car.




So we finally found the place where people collected rocks and trees to throw away. This was a perfect place for 100% camping. Not only were camping safe due to the rare presence of people, but there were piles of unused dry wood and grasses to make fires, and stones to stop the wind were piled up elsewhere.




We blew and pumped oxygen into the fire. There are definitely many dry grasses to use as dry wood and flint, so it's easy to make fire.




We fried the spinach, the couple had and the seasoned garlic I had together. The garlic was with spicy olive oil in it, so we didn't need any extra oil for cooking. Besides, the sauce tasted so good that it was amazing. And we cooked rice on the pot.




We can't leave out ham. I made cuts and wrapped them around the cooking foil I used to carry around.




They also had sweet potatoes and paprika, so we roasted them together. It's been a long time since I had a good dish. Camping makes it very difficult to make a fire unless you really have a stove.




Jeff cut the pet bottle with a knife for a cup and he gave a glass of whiskey to me. It was a perfect camping trip with good atmosphere.

Traveling with many people is more fun than alone.



Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You carried rice with you !!! 😀

haha yes.
But I uaually don't carry it. I probably wanted to try cooking wildly. :D

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #846.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow that looks Like a real adventure 😍

Haha of course!
Hitchhiking is good way to meet good people :D