Back in Poland - 3 months in Asia was enough

in #travellast year

DSC_0068.JPG


You got to know when to go.


I think 3 months of travel is enough for most bodies, mine was pretty much destroyed by the time I got back to Lublin - Poland.

Without going into too much detail, I needed a few days in a hotel to relax and rebuild my strength.
Bangkok was the perfect example of how little we care for each other!

Khaosan Road Bangkok!

I had fond memories of this road, be it 10 years previous, yes a full decade earlier, great - vibrant road full of life, and now?

The noise from music is so loud you cannot think straight, each bar trying to outdo the next with bigger speakers, it is for me at least, impossible on the night time to sit on this road, it is deafening.
Having had in Bali many a night in a bar or two with live bands, good music, great company, Thailand simply felt dirty, noisy, extreme even.

I have on my phone an app for decibels, and walking down that road it went beyond 120 decibels, which is off the chart/scale, such is the noise.
I sat in a superb Indian restaurant and had to leave, as the music was shaking the entire building, I kid you not.

DSC_0140.JPG


I was sat in a restaurant.


Right at one end of said road, and the owner offered me his upstairs office to take photos, beer in hand I duly accepted.
The photo above is one of many.
To the right of that photo is where I sat most nights in this dirty city, with the locals and some passing lunatics from the west.
Everyone has a story, all you got to do is listen.

They had Klaus Shwab and co's favorite cuisine, bugs and alligators. Right on the end of Khoasan Road.


DSC_0090.JPG

DSC_0270.JPG


To get to said road from my hotel was only a 4 minute walk.


It was an amazing walk, one that screams reality both there and in the west.
You have islands, traffic islands that scream wealth, that show off if you like.

DSC_0105.JPG


The royal palace is only a few minutes walk away too, surrounded by armed guards, police, military etc.
And then on that walk, that mere 4 minute walk, in Thailand's pride and joy that is stinking of human urine and excrement called Bangkok is this.


DSC_0123.JPG

DSC_0125.JPG

DSC_0100.JPG


Whilst most people only see this.


DSC_0119.JPG


I left BKK and went to Pattaya for 2 weeks, I cut that short and left my hotel, paid for, had enough of the stench, the constant harassment by sex workers too, both male and female and in between.....


DSC_0026.JPG


Thailand maybe some else's cup of tea, for sure it is not mine.

DSC_0029.JPG

Want to get stoned? Go to Thailand, most there are so far gone they do not know what day it is, IMO, based on what I saw.

DSC_0093.JPG

DSC_0189.JPG


Choices?


Having lived in Thailand before, and Bali, at my age - old, there is no comparison. Bali wins hands down.
Friendly people, culture, easy to get around.
Thailand smells worse than it did 10 years ago, and it smelt bad then!

Closing down tourism has had a miserable impact on both places, thank the WEF and your own governments for being corporate prostitutes, and green lunatics, travel for them but not for thee.
Thailand hopes to make up lost revenue by making a green plant legal to smoke, but who and what are they attracting? Answers on a post card to 10 downsyndrome street, London, or the WEF in Switzerland.........

I just bought a new PC and it is taking time to set it up, so see you when I get it sorted to what I want.

DSC_0001.JPG

Have a superb day, go to Bali if you get a chance, give Thailand a miss.

Sort:  

Dear @shepz1,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!

I was getting a bit worried about you. You blogged you got there than boom...nothing. I am not a big crowds person, actually more a hermit but will wonder into a crowd for the right reasons but that crowded mess there I wouldn't have much a desire for. Glad you made it out safe, the worlds a crazier place than we could even have imagined it would turn into.

Glad to get out in 1 piece, Thailand is IMO vile in the 2 places I stayed, not my idea of fun.

Even as much as this cities conservative lean after covid it's gotten wild, shootings have increased to an almost every other day, or so event, I could just imagine what you were headed for in a place like Thailand. Bali not so much though I am sure it's seen it's share of hardships in all this, Thailand on the other hand I figured that to be a rough tumble. Glad you made it back in one piece.

Me too. Thanks.

You didn't eat that Scorpion did ya?

No, I watched a "influencer" from youtube eat it.

fuckin degenerate, bin 'im

lol :-)