Got back to tianyara with no gps and no glasses.

in #travellast year (edited)

DSC_0246.JPG

DSC_0245.JPG


I am writing this with no glasses.


My last night in Singaraja was a blast, I did some mushroom cocktail and ticked one of my bucket list items re swimming with dolphins and seeing the glowing plankton.
I thought it wise to share the small bottle of shroomness as I have no had it in decades, and compared to UK shrooms it was a very pleasant and mild experience with only a glow in the stomach and a sense of mild euphoria.
There was no hallucinogenic aspect to it, which pleased me.So yes, a very pleasant time with no weird side affects.
After that I headed with the owner of my hotel to his new bar he opened last night, I was the first and only customer.
That is in Lovina, it reminded me when I arrived of Pattaya Thailand with all the open air bars and lights, minus the girls.ladies....


I picked up my passport at 10 AM and headed back to my villa, the new headphones I bought have given up already so much for them.
I had 1 spare but gave it to Steve the dive instructor for loaning me a backpack as mine was stolen along with my glasses a month ago.
I did have 2 sets of glasses but left my other set in a restaurant last night by the till. I went back today and they said they had not seen them, so till tomorrow I am typing blind so to speak.


Google maps...


Well with no headphones via bluetooth anymore I cannot hear the maps even when it does work, while at speed.
So I set off back to my villa blind and used gut instint alone, I did take one wrong turn but turned around when something felt wrong after 2 minutes and that gut instinct did me proud.

I managed to find the beach road and navigated it for 1.40 forty mins and found my villa after a few stops due to a now getting sore bum.
I decided to return the bag to Steve and that took another 50 mins riding then thought going to get some glasses would be a good idea.
I selected a route on maps and went slow enough to hear it up a damn mountain, And this is what I dislike about google maps, it took me 45 minutes to the top of a mountain and there was nothing there!!!

The road up it was the worst road I have been on in Bali full stop.

DSC_0243.JPG


Unsure if you can see but a lot of it is covered in slag and silt from tropical downpours dragging it onto the road.
Some piles were 6 inches deep, and do not get me started on the potholes.

DSC_0240.JPG


When I saw there was nothing there at the top I stopped to open a bag of crackers I had bought at the bottom, just in case, I was so high up after 45 mins riding up it that when I stopped to open it both of my hands cramped up and my thumbs folded in violently.
Both hands were in spasms, odd to say the least, but coming back down was fun to say the least with a few ear misses and some locals tried to race me, tried being the operative word.


DSC_0244.JPG

The first photo is related to the one above. I noted a wedding going on at somebodies house and invited myself in lol. They were happy to oblige with a photo and I could have stayed though needed a shower badly after so many hours in the saddle so to speak.

I am going to head down to Amed a 1 hour ride tomorrow for breakfast at the melon cafe, then head to Karangasam to get some glasses after, 4 hours in total on the bike tomorrow doing whacky races with the local loonies, all good fun, keeps my whits about me.

Have a superb sunshine filled day.

Peace and out.

P.S. the guy told me the shrooms only lasted 2 hours with a full bottle, he lied it was six and I only had a third. It was nice and mellow all the same, but once is enough for me.

Sort:  

Muscle cramping is sometimes a symptom of a potassium deficit.
Bananas are high in that.

I have been eating bananas for breakfast bro, it was the altitude.

Lol. You are making the most of this trip and sounds like relaxed fun.

I am 2 months into it lol, not finished yet, not by a long way lol, cheers buddy.