A trip to Berlin #1

in #travel2 years ago

The first weekend of June was a memorable one. To celebrate our 10 year anniversary my boyfriend and I decided to surprise each other with 'something', both with a similar budget, so we both could have that giddy feeling of knowing something cool the other doesn't yet... And put the others dreams first in the surprise.

Well, he definitely knew what to plan for me, as he took me to my (so far) favourite European city, Berlin, and filled it with loads of Art, Cultural spaces and ehmmm food. (Who doesn't love good food.)

I need my short trips regularly, so this was a perfect one that I had looked forward to for a while, without knowing it would come now!


First leg

I had to leave home early, bag packed, with no idea where I would go that weekend.

We started the trip by going from our city to Amersfoort, where I knew were International Trains leaving, and while we drank a cup of coffee I was handed a map of Berlin with some highlights he had planned to visit - to inspire me, and so I could start looking forward to the weekend - which would start in only 5 hours by the way!

Excited is an understatement :D

International train

A5CE346A-A47E-4882-A777-D5057C43F2F1.JPEG

The international train contained 6 person coupés which we shared with only 2 people at the start, and 2 more people after a few stops in Germany. Quite pleasant and lovely big windows to stare outside and dream a bit about the journey ahead...

7513D54D-23BC-4F3D-97B5-0AB4D8B63170.JPEG

5398C48F-955C-4C35-930E-E9D0BE8EC549.JPEG

We passed both quaint German landscapes as well as the beginning of urban Berlin.

After a trip of 7 hours we landed in Berlin - and would start our adventure of art and food. While on our journey I had asked around on Twitter for some tips and I had gotten more than I could fit in one weekend! Specifically one generous person made a full list of personal tips that I have put all on an offline map of Berlin, so I can revisit them next time.

Stay tuned for more updates on this short but packed trip to Berlin <3

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oooh, enjoy!!! Berlin is great in the summer!

Such a great city! Everyone is outside, playing! Love it :D

Oh I love it. What a cool surprise. I look forward to more posts!

They will come! ♥️

It is nice you have train service to get around. I wish we had more of that here in the USA. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, I love train travel and always prefer it over planes. In Europe the night trains are coming back, after they got out of fashion for a decade or so. Excited to travel overnight too!

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP