Sukhothai Historical Park, a famous tourist destination in Thailand - Part I

in #travel3 years ago

Sukhothai.jpg

If you are interested in history and archaeology, you would probably like to visit Sukhothai historical park.

Sukhothai is the first capital city of Thailand, so it has a very long interesting history. You can touch the old atmosphere via the ruined temples, pagoda, and Buddha images in the Sukhothai historical park.

Sukhothai1.jpg

Sukhothai11.jpg

Sukhothai17.jpg

Sukhothai16.jpg

Sukhothai3 (2).jpg

Sukhothai9.jpg

As the park is very vast, bicycling is one of the best ways that you can go around to admire the beauty of the site.

It’s very nice and peaceful atmosphere.

Sukhothai5.jpg

Sukhothai6.jpg

Sukhothai7.jpg

Sukhothai8.jpg

Sukhothai10.jpg

It's known that Buddha images in Sukhothai period were magnificent, especially the face which look peaceful, calm, and cool.

It seems that the Buddha images smile at us every time we see them. And we then have wide smiles for them as well. ^_______^

Sukhothai14.jpg

Sukhothai12.jpg

Sukhothai13.jpg

As you can see, everything is well preserved.

Imagine! How elegant and magnificent they were in the old days!

The pond makes the site looks relaxing and refreshing. The reflection on the water is always my favorite.

Sukhothai15.jpg

Most of the photos were from my sister’s recent trip, except the first and last photos which were from my last visit there a long time ago. It's unfortunate that there are only two photos that I can find from my own blog, https://wonderfultravelling.blogspot.com/2009/07/thailand-travel-destination-sukhothai.html.

When I was in university, my minor subject was “History”. It’s really amazing to see these ancient things at Sukhothai Historical Park with my own eyes. I very much enjoyed visiting there.

Sukhothai18.jpg

I can guarantee you that Sukhothai Historical Park will be a perfect and valuable trip for you, especially if you are a history lover, like me.

P.s. There will be more photos in my next post….

Sort:  

Wow! Nice photos! I always wanted to spend a few days there! An ancient city of the glorious past!

Many thanks! I love to visit the place, too. ;)