The East Coast as told by @travellingbug Kate

in #travel3 years ago

img_0.8287347988942443.jpg

Hey bloggers

So this is it!! My first ever travelling experience basically on my own !! I’m 23 and flying to Sydney then onto Cairns !

I left my sister with a few tears but more excited than anything for the trip of a lifetime to start ! 2 months on the east coast !!!

Like I mentioned in Perth post I can’t remember day to day diary entries but il give it my best shot !!!!

Looking back I literally didn’t seem to do a lot !!! It was my first stop on my trip and I was nervous about everything - I got more confidence as I went on don’t worry !!

I got a flight from Perth to Sydney then up to
Cairns !! Absolutely pooping my pants !! I got a shuttle bus too my Hostel -

img_3128.png

Can’t recommend hostels enough honestly just get amongst it and embrace every new experience and learn from others.

My hostel was on the front - called Caravella Backpackers - awesome little hostel with a pool! I know haha living the life! First hostel and bagged myself a pool! Definitely needed it in Cairns it was sooooooo humid as soon as I had a shower I needed another one!!

I settled in, grabbed a shower and headed out to start exploring !

You’ll soon realise you can’t eat out every night when travelling !! Grab the essentials from a supermarket and cook in the kitchens at the hostels !!! ( some you can’t !!! Explain later) but I did end up with a massive bag of food by the end of the trip!!

Most travellers go to the Great Barrier Reef from here and I would of done if it wasn’t my first stop ! I had to budget as I was on the road for 2 months!

But I just wandered really !! I love reading ...!! I spent a couple of days just watching the world go by in the lagoon along the front. In Oz there are book exchange shops! You take yours there and swap them for new ones!! I read like 45 books in my 3 months in Oz even though I wanted to keep them all !! I couldn’t fit them in my suitcase !!

I was only in Cairns a couple of days but I did go to the little wildlife place

img_3183.png

img_3124.heic

Looking back on the map ! They is actually loads to do but I was just getting into the swing of things ! I did go round to the pub where you got 10% off as your booked in at the hostel !! Every little helps !

The Oz Experience Bus was picking me up early and that really started my travelling ... loved getting on the bus meeting everyone and travelling to the next stop!

On the way to My next stop ... Magnetic Island we did a few stops on the way - that’s what I loved about the Oz Experience you get more than just a bus!

img_3126.heic

img_3127.heic

We stopped at where Peter Andre filmed his video for ‘Mysterious Girl’ Millaa Millaa Falls !! Or so our bus driver told us ! Was pretty awesome and we must of heard 4 versions of the song going in and out of the falls haha

I must say the drivers were amazing you get a different one every time and different people too which is good as your meeting new people all the time :) Plus it depends on how long you stay in a place which bus you go on !

We got to Townsville where you get the ferry across to Magnetic Island and I could stay 1 night or 3!! So I opted for 3!

And that will be what I write about in my next adventure in Australia

Thank you for read
Stay safe
Kate x

Ps a massive shout out to @tomatom for supporting me constantly - hope we get to travel again in 2021 xx

Sort:  

You're learning :-) x

Your a good teacher xxxx

Congratulations @travellingbug! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP