Flying home (Thailand) these days…

in #travel3 years ago

Never before I thought I would need to get a covid test. I’m not afraid of the virus. I personally think it’s just a very strong common flu that’s been very exaggerated and I’m so over it. Though, the situation forced me to..

I have been away from my home country for over a year and I think it’s time to be back. I have been over staying in a few countries like, Chile and the US. Not sure what the coinsequences would be in the near future with all the visas but, it is what it is.

To return home during this Covid Pandemic (which I think it should have been over by now) require a few extra processes and documents. Passport and plane tickets are just not enough anymore to fly home these days.


Documents and process

Passport
COE (Certificate of Entry)
Fit to Fly Certificate (Covid test)
A declaration form (Covid related)
Repatriation flight ticket (Free State Quarantine) or Semi commercial flight ticket (Alternative State Quarantine)

  • My passport burned in the California Fire and it takes 2 months for all the wait
  • The process to get the COE is 15 days
    The Fit to Fly Certificate / Covid test takes 3 days and costs $320!!
    Repatriation flights cost $920
    Semi commercial flights cost less but places to quarantine costs $2000-3000 for 2 weeks

It took me a few months to gather all the documents as well as cost me an arm and a leg to fly home compared to how much it usually cost.


Fit to Fly certificate ($320!! How outrageous!)

This is one of the required documents so yes, I went for a Covid Test. Easy peasy. A doctor asked me a few questions, checked my blood pressure and put a big cotton buds in my nose real deep for the mucus.

It normally takes up to 3 days for the result but this one I got it in a day. The result of course, Negative!


PXL_20210212_203549629.jpg

PXL_20210213_075359052.jpg


Ranting from the seat 48G Flight JL057 02/12/2021 Where only me sit in the row

… Who’s so annoyed of Covid, say ‘Yay!’

Sort:  

I have all time said ... all this corona is fake, they just use this to make money. Lot not want see it yet, when they start feel it in wallet.

I do believe you. My bf believe the same thing. bs.

WOW... just wow... It is such a problem to travel during this pandemic, and sooo expensive. Nonetheless, I am glad you won't be so far and beyond pad thai :3

Hahaha that's a funny one lol