Travel Pro Adventure #14: Hiking the South Western Coast of San Cristobal Island, Galapagos! Part One, Rainy Morning Start on Rout to Playa Punta Carola! (30 photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! In a recent post titled How to Do the Galapagos on a Budget I talk about all different things about exactly that. One of the topics I went into detail about was self tours. On the Galapagos Islands if you want to part with your money there will always be someone around to help you with exactly that! Especially tour agencies, but the reality of the matter is they are really not needed unless you are going scuba diving or visiting some nearby uninhabited islands.

The day before I hiked up this hill called "La Tejeretas". I saw a sign showing a hiking trail that was several kilometers long taking you up the south western side of the coast. Sounded like an excellent self tour. A couple days earlier on my Travel Pro Adventure on the Southern Coast I found myself in the mid-day sun. Boy was it strong. I ended up with a slight sunburn.

So the night before I set my alarm to 5:30 am and went to bed early. Planning on avoiding this strong afternoon sun I started my day as if I had an early morning flight to catch; something that is definitely not too foreign to this "Travel Pro". I was up an hour before the sunrise. I made myself a little breakfast of mixed fruit, nuts, and chocolate. I ate half of it and brought the other half with me for the hike.

The sun was just coming up as I left the hotel at about 6:20 in the morning. I was a bit concerned. While I was having my breakfast I began to hear the pitter-patter of rain starting to fall outside my hotel window. I grabbed my umbrella, looked out the hotel front door, and just stood there for a good minute just watching the rain fall. I took a deep breath, opened my umbrella, and said to myself "It's time for a Travel Pro Adventure!" and I headed out! Now come along and let's explore the Galapagos together!

I thought this would be a nice cover photos for the post. This cruise ship actually turned out to be a point of reference during the entire trek; and it's seems to show up several times from many different vantage points throughout this adventure.

As mentioned in the intro, this is how the adventure starts! In the rain with the umbrella open walking down the street away from our hotel.

We pass a school. It looks nicely kept. I've seen so many schools laid out like this all over the second and third world; with the basketball court front and center and the classrooms and buildings built around it.

Heading away from town and toward Playa Punta Carola, the paved road quickly turns into a dirt road.

The dirt road is bordered by this stone wall. There is an opening. We take the trail.

The trail ends after a short five minute walk and this fantastic view of Playa Punta Carola is suddenly laid out before us. This is the biggest and one of the most popular beaches on the Island of San Cristobal. At this hour of the day we had the entire beach to ourselves, and some sea lions of course!

The little ones are so cute. Like little aquatic puppy dogs!

Do you see the sea lion in the photo? They can be quite camouflaged while on these black rocks.

These finches were found all over the island. I noticed you had to be quick if you wanted to photograph them. They never seemed to stay in the same spot for more than five seconds.

Wildlife is the name of the game when you come to the Galapagos. Every single sandy beach area on the island was home to at least some sea lions and a mix of birds.

As we head to the far western side of the beach, basically the corner of the island, the cruise ship comes into view.

This finch is bright yellow! Seems like they come in yellow and black here in the Galapagos. They are nothing like the big famous Blue-Footed Booby we saw the other day.

This rocky outcrop was home to many Galapagos Iguanas. Can you see any in this photo?

How about now?

Those are some pretty big birds! I had to zoom in on my camera for this shot.

The passengers of this cruise ship are probably still sleeping. It's not even 7:00 AM yet.

Hey a trail! I'm hoping this leads up the hill to La Tejeretas where the start of the main hiking trail is that I saw yesterday.

Nope it just went behind the same beach for a short ways and led us to this seen straight out of a National Geographic documentary!

I love how caring and affectionate these sea lions are. Not only that, they are full of personality and are fun to watch.

These are the famous Galapagos frigate birds. That red part fills up with air like a balloon! It's like their mating call or something. I'm really not sure.

Ahh this must be the trail we are looking for. To no surprise there is a big iguana right in our path. I really have never been anywhere on the planet where the wildlife is so in your face. You literally can't avoid it if you tried. I suppose this is one of the main attractions to why people come here.

In part two I start practicing talking on camera again. You can listen to me fumble around trying to come up with an opening and closing statement. So there are a couple videos I'll be sharing in the next post.

This path twists and turns and gives us a great unexpected stop over on the way to the start of the nature trail on the hill called La Tejeretas.

Thank you so much for joining me on this Part One of our Travel Pro Adventure during this rainy morning on the South Western Coast of San Cristobal Island in the Galapagos! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Places of Interest #8: Shipwreck Bay San Cristobal Galapagos Islands! Part Two (10 photos, 1 video)

Travel Pro Tip #26 :How to Do the Galapagos on a Budget! (14 photos)

Travel Pro Art #12: Galapagos Elementrary School Murals! Part Two (11 photos)

Travel Pro Adventure #12: Hiking the Southern Coast of San Cristobal Island, Galapagos! Part Three, The Search for the Blue-Footed Booby! (26 photos, 1 video)

Real Life Captured #71: Carnival Parade in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two (15 photos)

Travel Pro Gear #8: Three Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

!steemitworldmap -0.889653 lat -89.612163 long d3scr

Sort:  

Great adventure. The Galapagos are on my bucket list. My wife and I are headed to Morocco in April. I think this trip may be our next one, probably Spring of next year. If we travel in the shoulder season, what month would you recommend?

Also, I am upvoting my comment to put it above the other one. I think it is a virus. Don't click on it. I will report it to Steemcleaners. All that blank space is very suspicious.

Honestly I'm not really sure. I think the weather in the Galapagos is really constant. I just went on a spur of the moment decision! lol That's often how I travel. I've got no "home" so where ever I go there I am!

How fluent is your Spanish? I'm assuming that it's the prevalent language spoken there. Also, are you currently travelling alone there? What are your accomodation and how long have you been staying there? Forgive my questions, I'm trying pick the mind of a travel pro :D

It's all good bro! I'm fluent in Spanish after having an Ecuadorian girlfriend for a year. Yes I'm traveling alone these days. I've been in Guayaquil here for about two months! Minus 10 days in the Galapagos. I'm paying 12 dollars a night. I've been working my tail off blogging. But I'm finally leaving here today to travel more. Blogging has taken up so much of my time I've stopped really ....traveling!

Haha! Go out and spread your wings, brother! It's a shame the relationship didn't last. At least you became fluent in Spanish because of it.

Just saw this now......yes, EXACTLY what I've been thinking.

Great Pics Dan! I feel like I have been to the Galapagos now! Thanks. Angie and I are in Bangkok now. If you happen to find yourself in South-East Asia anytime soon!

Hey nice! You going to meet up with @offoodandart's son Angelo who is there? Real nice guy. I had the pleasure of meeting him while I was in Bangkok.

Don't think I'll run into you there this time around but good to know you made it there safe and sound!

We hope to see Angelo in a couple weeks. He is in Europe now. But, we will meet up with @mayasiam next week sometime.

I love the pictures of the beach, you always make your photography look so realistic, as if one could walk into the photo and smell and feel the air from the sea. you are an amazing photographer. thank you @world-travel-pro.

Wow, thank you! That means so much to me. I really try to just capture the moment rather than take "beautiful" photos. However it turns out.....there you go! Thanks again!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-adventure-14-hiking-the-south-western-coast-of-san-cristobal-island-galapagos-part-one-rainy-morning-start-on-rout-to-playa-punta-carola-30-photos-1518915190


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I've Follow, Upvote. Interesting post. I like, multiply the article and expand it again. Spirit and keep working. Follow me @zanimar

photos and beautiful sea views

How much I envy you on this trip! Perhaps one day I'll make it...

Ha ha. You have a lot of adventures I envy as well! lol

Good one. Informative. Please keep up the good work.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 14:47:55
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 222.55/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank