Challenge: stay at home, share 3 travel photos (day 9) from La Isla de Margarita, Castillo San Carlos de Borromeo 🇻🇪

in #travelathome4 years ago (edited)

PSFix_20200502_123612.jpeg


Trench surrounding the structure and drawbridge

I am delighted to share my travel experiences!

The best prevention is to stay home.

This is my challenge started by @psos.

This is my challenge started by @psos Join us

"Stay home and share 3 photos from your trips"

On the 9th, I will share 3 photos.

The Castillo San Carlos de Borromeo, is a military construction from the Viceroyalty of Nueva Esparta, located in the bay of Pampatar, Isla de Margarita, Venezuela.

IMG_20200502_20373101.jpeg

View of the fort towers

The Castillo San Carlos de Borromeo was built in the 17th century to protect the port of Pampatar from attack by pirates and corsairs. For a long time it was the most sophisticated military construction on the island and is currently one of the best preserved from the colonial era. Its base structure draws a star shape and contains characteristic elements of fortresses of this type such as drawbridges, cannon courtyard and even a moat that surrounds the entire fort.

IMG_20200502_20380301.jpeg

Tower located in one of the vertices of the base.

Its construction took approximately 20 years, started in 1622, 40 years later the castle was completely destroyed by pirates and 2 years later it began to be rebuilt; culminating said construction 20 years later, in 1684. In the following years the castle was destroyed and rebuilt on many occasions.

IMG_20200502_20382901.jpeg

Pampatar view from one of the canyons.

Thank you for joining me on my journey.
@truelovemom💕

I am @truelovemon, Mileidy. Lover of nature and everything that inhabits it. Passionate about photography, not only a click is enoughj, it is to see beyond your eyes, it is to fill you with the hidden beauty in the simple.

Follow meTwitter

It prevents Coronavirus.
Stay in 🏡 Facts not fear. 🙌 Clean. 💕 Open.


Created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

I love the castle of course and all these photos but the blues of the water really catch my eye ;)

Hello @tattoodjay. The trip we did for my daughter's open water competition, it was a wonderful weekend.
I miss both the beach and the mountains.

Sounds like a good weekend, I miss my beach walks at the moment, to many people out walking and not being sensible so I have to stay away, and its been ages since I have been to or near mountains :(

I am living with the hope of returning to the sea, the river and the mountains or any bit of nature that I find, I will appreciate it much more after living in captivity.

Ohh yes I am the same, thats the light at the end of this very dark tunnel at the moment

Nice photographs.
I'll join in this initiative "stay at home, share 3 travel photos" soon.

@tipu curate

I hope to see your travel photos.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.