Rowan blooms in Sunnhordland

in #trees5 years ago (edited)

Some trees are especially beautiful in the spring when they bloom and later in the autumn when they have fruit or berries.
Rowan or Mountain ash (Sorbus aucuparia) is such a tree. They are a decorating tree during the spring when they bloom with its white flowers. In the autumn the mountain ash has outstanding red berries.
When the trees have a lot of flowers they are followed by a lot of berries.
Rowan is a beautiful tree which is decorating in the wood as well as in private and public gardens.
The pictures show some pictures of flowering Rowan tree photographed a couple of days ago.
To show how it looks like in the fall, I have added a picture taken in the autumn of Rowan with red berries.

DSC_1520.jpg

DSC_1521.jpg

DSC_1522.jpg

DSC_1523.jpg

DSC_1525.jpg

mountain ash.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice shot and lovely tree.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your comments about the photos of the Rowan tree @Michaeljn

Gorgeous photos, my dear friend @Siggjo
I like the looks Rowan in the fall.

At once their berries among already yellowed foliage are visible!
Very impressive sight!

Thank you very much for the photo!

Thanks for the nice comment about the pictures of the rowan tree, my dear friend @Singa
Nice to hear that you like the images.

This is one of my favorite berries, no, not in the sense that I like to eat rowan, I like to photograph it. Last year, mountain ash, in ours matured three months earlier than usual. In August, I already saw fully ripened clusters. Your photographs and description of the species, my Dear friend @Siggjo, beautifully show the stages of flowering and ripening of this bitter berry. Excellent macro shots, when there are so many small colors, it is very difficult to choose the right focus, you did it. Good night to you!

Thank you for your comments @Barski
Rowan, the English name you use for this tree is more similar to the Norwegian word which is «rogn».
I will use that name later since ash Ash (Fraxinus excelsior) is the name of a completely different species of wood and Rowan has no relationship with this ash.
Thanks for the name of Rowan​, my dear friend @Barski.
I also like to take photos of the rowan, and I hope to take a lot of images of this beautiful tree the coming autumn.