There Are Students Who Hire Tutors For Help With Graded Assignments

in #tutor4 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello there. This education post is based on an experience that I had about two months ago.

I was asked to tutor a university student (non-STEM) with Introductory Statistics (For Arts Student). This student was taking the course for a second time. In the second/third session the student's mother was around and asked if I can assist the son with actually helping him with the graded assignment. I politely declined the request from the mother and the son. I did mention though to the son that I can go through an example in the SPSS statistical software that would be related to the assignment questions.

If I recall correctly, the mother did mention/ask if there would be someone else who could do this. (Huh?) The thing was I was not going to be that type of tutor who helps parents/students "pay their way" for good grades. The student(s) also have to put in the effort in learning and earn their grade.


Pixabay Image Source

 

Setting Boundaries As A Tutor


It is important to set some boundaries just in case students or even parents may request something that is against academic integrity. I would recommend to state your boundaries politely and firmly as a tutor and educator. Even though there are (big) expectations placed on tutors to help students, the tutee (student) is also responsible for their own learning as well. It is not like all the learning magic happens with just the tutor.

With my case with the student, I do not know how much work/learning/review he did on statistics concepts outside of our sessions. I did mention that I can be reached by e-mail for any questions on concepts or the assignment. I received no such questions in my e-mail inbox.


Pixabay Image Source

 

I Did Cut Ties With The Student After Two Cancelled Mondays In A Row


Just like the subtitle says, I did resign from tutoring this student after two cancelled Mondays in a row. Both cancellations happened on Monday mornings which was about 8 hours before the scheduled evening sessions. The cancellations from the student violated the 24 hour cancellation notice policy set by the tutoring company.

My boss did mention that the student did not enjoy my sessions with me. Um, okay even though I know introductory statistics well and did do sufficient prep work. It did not work out. It happens every once in a while.


Pixabay Image Source