To Insight

in #typography7 years ago (edited)

A 2 year long online literary project I started back in may of 2015 came about from a typography class. At first it was an attempt to complete a dose of homework my teacher dished out. But as I sat with my idea it evolved beyond a school assignment. I had a vision of the travels I was taking across a map of the United States that opened my perspective; it was something I wanted to share. In this 2 year long process I cover the aspects of travel, the death and loss of not only a pet but a parent as well, the transition of living soley on your own, sexual assault and rape, creative photo shoots, and so much more content.

Every letter within to insight had a meaning- a piece of writing. And the hopes were to provide insight and incite movement.

image

To become I, what must I do? Is I a path, a line? Or is I a destination, a dot on the map? Does taking the line, the path drawn lead us to the dot or does the dot, the destination start us down the line? But the letter so simple as I could not ever be something, as I could not ever be something more- or is it in my power to allow I?

image

Do not become just one space, one dot on a map, expand forth like the sea, flow with the movement as you draw forth I, as for I will grow, grow much more than you know to be true today, let I be something more? I is simply something more and the insight here, in this dot is more than I could dream of, getting caught here is something hard to walk away from. Allow I to trust in i's intuition.

image

A void in yourself, a void in your travels- voids in your insight, there is paths, destinations and intersections you must reach, expand as a hook, grabbing hold into the openness, this map is not yet filled and there is much more there than you have dreamed of, all of it is there to make I more, to make I so much more and there is no need to pull back. Allow I to capture these moments of life.

image

Not seeing into things, blinded by what we already know makes I nothing more, how? Why? And where is my worth? Lost upon this world, behind the doors I cannot open, searching along the paths in between these destinations, why can I not allow I to be something more? Constant dragging forces of fear - restless in its grasp, holding away my legs needed for forward steps. Allow I to no longer coward away inside.

image

Gaze into souls, gasping slices of their intercepting paths, connections of reasoning to happens all making I into more, gather what you have and announce I as something more, through never ending destinations and paths - insight the mind and minds beyond here, but there and everywhere. Allow I to flourish.

image

Have thoughts with your heart, have conceptions of the world not through mindless tampering of those polluted, cross through journeys of different paths - each connected with reasoning of happenings, travels taking your heart to new places and the minds eye watching, evaluating allowing the questions of I do not know being answered in meditation. Allow yourself the ability.

image

Sort:  

I'm currently publishing a free typography course here on steemit for anyone interested in learning! Thanks for sharing, this was beautiful. Did you know that Steve Jobs attributed his calligraphy course to his love for typography and ultimately if it weren't for that course, our personal computers may not be so appealing :)

You never know what'll turn into a life changing experience. I might have to take a typography class myself. LOL

My experience in this class first day was "run out, grab a stick and put it in your ink" "there you go, that's how humans made our letters and writing we know today" it was so simple and almost stupid that the connection never really hit till then how it was developed. Definitely recommend it

Love this! thank you for sharing your work. Art takes time :)

Total timely process! Thank you for your support

Woaaahhhhhhhh this is cool!

Thank you! I look forward to sharing more of this project💕

Congratulations @iamthebluerose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

AMAZING i love ur post

Love your comment! Thank you