ULOG - Weekly Thoughts - 22 Jun - 28 Jun 20 - Homesteading This Week...

in #ulog4 years ago

Good Morning, Hive-ians! :D

We’ve had a lovely week here weather-wise, we could have used a bit more rain, as our pond is getting low, thankfully though our well is deep and we still have water to share with our garden and to add to the pond if we have to. :D

Our garden beds are doing well and if we get to harvest what’s out there we should have plenty of supplies to get us through the winter and still have some to share with our kids for their families and perhaps even a bit to share with friends too. :D

We had a lot of different visitors in our garden, like this pretty black and white butterfly. :D

Our pretty puppy mom Karma spent a lot of time napping in her favourite “cool” spot, my shower. :D

We had some stunning colours in our night sky, like this sunset. :D

The cows spent a lot of their day napping in the shade of the barn or in the trees at the back of the main pasture. :D

My handsome husband and I have been keeping a close watch on our potato plants and thus far have managed to keep up with the potato beetles and their babies, so Lord willing, we’ll get a lot of our favourite vegetable to enjoy in a few more weeks. :D

Some other lovely sunset colours to share. :D

I didn’t think any of my shots were clear, but I did manage to get this one of our moon on Tuesday night that wasn’t too blurry. :D

The frogs and goldfish don’t seem to be looking for a new home, even with the water levels being this low, thankfully we can add water from our well if we need to and there are still some deeper spots for them to enjoy while we wait on more rain. :D

The hens have had a great week of treats and my handsome husband turned over dirt in their run which helped them get to more worms and grubs. :D Thankfully that fox hasn’t been around this week, but we did have a skunk show up and nobody got skunked so it’s been a great week all around. :D LOL! :D

Sunbathing frog. :D

I love the bright yellow belly on this frog. :D

The lower water levels make it a bit easier to get photos of some of our pond frogs. :D

Our pretty Princess had to be chased away from the corner of our chicken run a couple of times as she was using it for a scratching post and pushing it inwards at the same time. :D

I’ve noticed that the yellow and black butterflies like our zucchini plants, but the black and white ones and the little brown and orange ones prefer our potato and bean plants. :D

The herd was happy to have free range in all the pastures this week, they’ve been so full of fresh grass that they haven’t touched the hay in their feeder. :D

It looked like the sky was on fire as the sun set on Thursday. :D

It’s nice to see the crops getting bigger by the day. :D

My handsome husband picked a few wild strawberries to snack on every few feet on our walk down into the back of the yard, here’s two I managed to get a picture of before he ate them. :D

Does anyone know what these eggs are? :D We found them on the path on our walk and neither one of us could figure out what they were from. :D

This pretty butterfly came on our walk with us. :D

These frogs were hanging out in the ditch along our walking path. :D I managed to snap this shot before the dogs scared them away. :D

Our winter wood supply arrived Friday morning. :D

Thankfully, it was cool enough to turn the oven on and have one of our favourite meals, pizza, on Friday. :D

I love this short from Friday night. :D

Well that was our week here. How is/was yours? I hope you have had an awesome week! :D

Anyone else interested in a badge like this? Contact @daddykirbs for a custom badge of your own. :D Thank you to @zainenn for the GHSC footer as well. :D
(All photos taken by me or for me by my handsome husband on my Huawei P30 Lite.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @frostyamber! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Love all your frog photos! Nice summary of your week on the homestead. Gardens looking good!

Welcome back lovely lady! :D Thanks for visiting. :D

Thank you very much! :D The frogs are one of my favourite things to photograph, some sit there and just let me snap away hoping for a clear shot among them all, but others see me coming and dive into the water to hide, so I'm always happy when I get some good ones to share. :D I can't take the credit for our gardens, I help a little, but my handsome husband does the bulk of the work in there and he's a great gardener. :D I think this will be our best harvest yet, barring anything bad happening. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

You have your own farm. so beautiful.

Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog, reading my post, and making a comment. :D

Yes we do, it's small, but we love it here. :D Thank you very much! :D

God bless you. :D Have an awesome day! :D

Thank you for sharing such a nice article.

My pleasure, I'm glad that you enjoyed it. :D Please feel free to visit my blog anytime. :D

God bless you. :D