Mud, glorious mud.

in #unschooling4 years ago

Today was the day we watched our kids do something that all young boys and girls are natural born experts at...

making a mud pie.

j1ldsc.jpg

That’s right. My boy (6) and a neighbour of the same age played in the mud with water, for over an hour straight.
Which is a fair amount of time considering his unusual bouncing energy which hops from one thing to another during the day.
But this activity he found entirely by himself held his attention, and you could see his imagination whirring away.

aw48ap.jpg

What could it be? a mud pie? A castle with a moat? A slimy mud creature from the depths of the forest?
A portal to another world?

It was such primal play and it was brilliant to see. I can’t wait until he does it again!

I think my boy has been even more inspired after he discovered videos of some YouTube accounts that show men in a forest somewhere in the jungle (possibly in Thailand?) making houses, huts and amazing bathing spaces out of literally nothing but the earth, trees and clay.

menyhm.jpg

They are hypnotising videos and they are weirdly therapeutic to watch.

gj4m70.jpg

The heat here in the UK (North) has been incredible lately.

So it’s been tops off and water out.
We made sure after his mud games that he was washed outside before he set foot in the house!
The bath colour when he got out was an godly shade of greeny-brown.

Anyway, he had fun and so did we.
What did he learn? I have no idea. You would have to ask him :)

Sort:  

Those mud cakes pies looked AMAZING! I remember making them as a child and just wishing they were real and I could eat it up!

My boys have watched a lot of those videos you showed, and they really are amazed and inspired by them. So was I!

Yes, they’re super inspiring videos.
I’ve sat and watched a full 20 minutes on my own in the past. Fully captivated.
Truly amazing highlights of something so backbreaking and time consuming!

Good idea about the hosing off, I have many, many fond memories of having to sweep/mop up little muddy footprints when my kids were that age and got covered head to toe in mud outside XD

So adorable watching them having so much fun like that :)