MY FASCINATION WITH KOREAN FOOD

in #vegan3 years ago

Disclaimer, I'm not a K-drama fan but I admire those people who have all the energy and time to watch K-Drama non-stop. I watch a few Korean Shows before such as The Kingdom and It's Okay Not To Be Okay and it's the only shows I watched from start to finish. I also watched the movie Parasite which was really interesting. Watching the shows and movie made me realize how Koreans are very connected with their food. I love how food are incorporated in their productions. They always eat together and enjoy their meal with a bottle of soju.

During the early days of lockdown, researching for new dishes was one of the things I love to do. I thought it'll be difficult to make Korean food vegan but apparently a lot of Korean dishes are vegan and can be veganized easily. Say for example the Dubujorim which is also my personal favorite. Its a spicy braised tofu with lots of onions and onion chives. Its usually serve as a side dish for Samgyupsal but can also be consumed as it is with plain rice but I opt for corn grits because I don't eat rice tat time. I learned making this recipe through a Korean Youtuber Maangchi. You can check the video tutorial here

It's very simple, easy but very flavorful.

page0(6).jpg

page0.jpg

Another dish which I enjoy to make is Yachaejeon or best described as Vegetable Pancake.

page0(3).jpg

you can find the recipe and video tutorial here https://www.maangchi.com/recipe/yachaejeon

Koreans, just like any other Asians, love noodles. One of the most popular noodle dishes are Japchae and Jajangmyeon. Both dishes are traditionally cooked with meat but since I'm a vegan, I omit the meat and replace it with mushrooms.

page0(4).jpg

I was inspired to make this dish after watching several videos of Maangchi making Korean dishes. You can find the recipe of the Japchae here https://www.maangchi.com/photo/my-vegetarian-japchae

page0(5).jpg

This is by far the most challenging Korean dish I made because I replaced some ingredients with what's available in my kitchen and I don't know what it supposed to taste like. For the recipe you can find it here https://seonkyounglongest.com/vegan-jjajangmyeon/

page0(1).jpg

page0(2).jpg

I enjoyed making these dishes. I made so much Yachaejeon for my friends that when I left for Negros they'll message me and tell me how much they misses it. I was also surprised that I got into cooking Korean dishes out of all the cuisines out there. I have several recipes on my list that I will have to try soon. I can't wait to share it with everyone.

PS I'll be making a separate blogs to show you my version of making these dishes. Stay tuned! Annyeong!

Sort:  

Congratulations @asasiklause! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

I like how you add the caption on the photos. It seems mimicking a typical social stories. By the way, the food looks delicious. !discovery 20

Thank you so much for the kind words.🤗🤗🤗


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Ong yesyesyessss to Korean foodsssss jud me🙋‍♀️🙋‍♀️🙋‍♀️ This looks soooo YUMMM😍😍😍😍😍😍Nahan ko mu try aniiii

Lami jd kaau ang Korean foods. Hehhehehe. Try nya!

I am a Kdrama fan! And also I love Korean food. I'm always craving!! 🤣😁

Samgyupsal na this.

Waiting for your future restaurant to open soon.

OMG!!! Soon soon soon.

I had a lot of food in my life, but can you believe i don't think i ever had nothing typical from Korea? looks great, i wish i saw more meat on it, must be a cultural thingm the first pics looked really really crisp and tasty, great posting overall!

Thank you. You can definitely add meat in the noodle dishes. :g)

Can you please visit me soon and cook me some of these! 😁

It would be an honor!🤗🤗🤗

That's a great idea ate. hahaha