WHAT DO I EAT AS A VEGAN

in #vegan3 years ago

379A573D-CB79-4EA9-8799-4212D8A14DED.png

The biggest misconception of being a vegan is that people think you will only have to eat salads. A lot of people assume that since a vegan can't have meat, they will only have to eat vegetables and fruits. Technically we eat lots of fruits and vegetables but there are other food groups that a vegan could eat.

In this blog I will show to you some of the food that I consume as a Vegan.

Here are some classic Filipino dishes that could be easily veganized by simply removing meat ingredients or using tofu instead of animal products.

5AF45E57-F701-4E0E-8832-E0CE0994C0B5.jpeg
This is best paired with rice or corn grits. Typically, Filipinos will pair this with fried fish but this dish will totally satisfy your hunger by itself.

90A0D5AB-F341-49D5-AD51-3CD5B993734A.jpeg
This stir-fried noodle or commonly known as Pansit Guisado is always present in any Filipino gathering such as birthdays, fiesta or any special occasions.

AC63D91B-0F76-46DD-9E4A-A84BB0E3BBCA.jpeg
A healthier version of Sisig? Use tofu and mushroom instead.

A lot of Filipino dishes are very easy to be veganized. What's more important is the flavor of the dish and its components should be healthy. It's best to preserve the natural state of the fruits and vegetables but cooking it won't be a problem either. Here are some ideas what you can make in eat for breakfast, snacks, lunch or maybe dinner.

For breakfast or snack this is my usual go-to meals. Aside from the Avocado Toasts that I posted https://peakd.com/foodie/@asasiklause/avocado-lovers-this-is-for-you and the Apple Peanut Butter Toast I made here https://peakd.com/hive-120586/@asasiklause/simple-toast-for-breakfast

30EAE38C-6CFC-4C5F-8C04-D14ABD9FC520.jpeg
If I'm in the mood to whip something fancy, I'll definitely make a smoothie bowl.

E3942BD8-BAAF-4866-8B79-ADF73F6CDC3A.jpeg
or sometimes I put my smoothie in a jar. Doesn't matter where I put it, it's still tasty.

You can also find here other smoothie bowls I made https://peakd.com/vegan/@asasiklause/for-the-love-of-smoothie-bowls-pt1

948E347E-6ADD-4988-8336-DBD5A262A9F0.jpeg

Something light and healthy to eat while binge watching, this could be a great snack.

If you are considering to eat more plant-based food. It is very important to research. Know what's available and know what you like. When I was still starting as a vegan, I always research food items I can eat and make at home. You can also look for cafes and restaurants that offer vegan or vegetarian options in their menu. I used to eat a lot in restaurants and I get ideas of what to cook at home from their menu. One thing that could also help you gain more knowledge about plant-based food and cooking, follow pages and account in your social media that regularly post those stuff or join a community here on Hive that have vegan or vegetarian friendly blog posts.

Here are some dishes that could be for lunch or dinner.

936EB2A1-968C-48B6-A3CB-AA562A95ADB2.jpeg
You can definitely add more if you want or replace quinoa with rice. There's no rule in making your burrito.

8E225089-87C1-42CF-B012-05DE5E71BD7D.jpeg
This one can be serve with rice or put in in between a burger bun with lettuce, tomato, onions and sauce of your choice for a healthier burger.

07884EB6-F85A-464B-9644-AA7C1003E1D1.jpeg
This is probably one of the most interesting dish I made but definitely worth all the wait and effort.

44E0E8CC-BD9B-450A-BDDA-C57B72326CF9.jpeg
aside from my fascination with Korean food, Indian cuisine is something I am keen as well.

0972E291-A450-4A47-AD70-EBAA1D91CFB8.jpeg
This combo looks like a snack but will totally fill your stomach.

047D59DB-56AA-4514-9603-BFAC9FCF3596.jpeg
I'm so proud how this dish turned out. I haven't made this for a long time. Next time I'll make sure to document it so I can share it with you.

379A61F8-5C98-4C9E-99E1-F3DC840DD66C.jpeg
Something easy and simple perfect for those who are always on the go.

I enjoyed making these dishes and experimenting it. I haven't written down the recipe for these dishes but I know it by heart already maybe it's a talent you acquire when you cook all the time. Please let me know if you have any dish or dishes in particular that you want to know how to make. I'll be happy to make a blog about it.

Sort:  

This are good set of food. The photo are a delight to see. !discovery 15

Thank you so much @juecoree 🤗🤗🤗


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Looks yummy Klause. 😁

Hi @anddumbcunts how are you?
Keep it up.

Thanks Sasha! Ngaon ta.

Ali dali haha

Kalami og nawng sa Pancit ug Monggos! 🤤🤤😋

My all time faves. Thank you @glecerioberto 💚💚💚

Lamiag Monggos 😋😋😋😋untitled.gif

Bsta lami dw ang muhimo, lami pd na ang pagkaon. Ahw. Hahahahaha. Thank you @itsmiessyonpeakd

Sige na gud Klause! Too nako. Basta ikaw Kurog KO hahahhahhaa untitled.gif

Hmm. maka try nga sa Vegan Burrito 😁 nice one @asasiklause 👍👍

I have the draft of the recipe na. Sharing it soon. Ahahahaha

Dear @asasiklause , Are you a foodie? Filipino cuisine has a unique charm that is a mixture of Western and Filipino cuisines!
Are those dishes delicious?

I'm a certified foodie. Filipino dishes are very delicious.

You make being a vegan LOOK SOOOOO YUMMYYYYY huhu 🤧 puhon mu watch nya kos Food Inc kay para ma encourage ko to go vegan waaahhhh
Lamiaaaa sa foods oi
untitled.gif

Thank you @jongcl mgpost pko more pra dghang maglaway. Ahw. Ahahhha

HAHAHAA omg sakto gyud kaayo na support ko ara dapita ba😅

I always love your food presentation 🥰 These look yummy, would like to try every single of them!

Thank you so much Gil.🤗🤗