NOW COMPLETE!! Enterprising Women. Emilia Lujan, vegan activist and YouTube influencer

in #veganism6 years ago (edited)

IMG-0326.JPG

With 24 years old, she's a venezuelan living in Miami and she's the number one of this serie of enterprising women

Emilia made her career in Public Relations and Publicity, and just finished her Masters in Media Studies. She's a vegan activist and a YouTuber, and she also runs a blog with different subjects related to the vegan lifestyle. I wanted to talk to Emilia about her decision of becoming a vegan and how the benedict's she pursues motivate her enough to post it in social media and try to inspire more people to live a healthy and conscious nutrition.

¿What motivated you to change into a vegan feeding?

Well I started as a vegetarian first and then when my body started to feel different and healthier I decided to stop eating meat and I was feeling better day by day. One of my biggest influence was the documentary called “Food Inc.” after I watched it I realized the reality of the meat industry where animals suffer so much, so I decided to quit eating meat as an act of love and respect for the world, then I met the word “vegan” and when I started my research I noticed that the industry of dairy is worse that the meat industry! So I decided to not eat it and start a 100% vegan nutrition.


In your opinion, what's the biggest myth about veganism?

The protein one. There is protein everywhere, in plants, vegetables, in everything. A meat consumer eats at least two times of the protein the body really needs. Also, meet is protein and saturated fats, so there's no fiber at all in it and that's the first thing you need to be able to process nutrients in a proper way. This is the reason why the body takes so long to process the meat. Nobody ends at the hospital for protein deficiency, all the protein the human body needs is in a portion of mixed vegetables and grains. Yes, protein is important because if we don't consume it the muscles start to perish, but what you really need to process food and have energy in your body is fiber. A vegan nutrition is based on fiber.

IMG_0324.jpg


You Think a meat consumer can turn to veganism for once, or do you think it is better to make the transition by starting with a vegetarian nutrition?

You can, but you need a guide because you need to change you entire lifestyle. I do recommend, if you don't havce a guide, start by having a vegetarian nutrition and experiment with different kind of food. You have to make it mixed and fun; a vegan nutrition is not equal to say a "diet" and it doesn't have to be boring at all.

What kind of guide would you recommend for someone who's trying to start in the world of veganism? A nutritionist

The thing is not a lot of nutritionists are aware, or not many of them have adopt this way of eating, so not all of them are gonna be able to help you because they're usually going to say "you need to eat meat", because the measures of the medical industry of iron in the body are based in a carnivorous diet. The level of iron in my body is lower than the level of a meat consumer but that doesn't mean it's bad, it's just lower than others because I don't eat meat. Also, a meat consumer can also be anemic because its nutrition can be missing Vitamin C which is fundamental for the body to process the meat. So, if someone's been eating meat and it's also anemic, it is probably missing vegetables in the plate. I'm actually working right now in a guide to change your lifestyle into vegan that is going to be available in my blog very soon and it's going to include a list of basic things you can buy at the supermarket, basic recipes , how to order at a restaurant and the basics of a vegan basic nutrition.

What benefits can you perceive in your body look since you became vegan?

First of all, my skin. I honestly get a lot of compliments on how healthy and hydrated my skin looks. I don't have have any acne, I look young -unless I go to a party the day before-, also my hair has grown healthier, more hydrated, and all of that is only because my diet is based in fruits and vegetables. Of course I also drink a lot of water, but you're going to be way more hydrated if your nutrition is based in fruits and vegetables. I also notice at the gym I get stronger faster than before, and I also recover faster, I used to be so sore the next days of a really good workout. My body odor also changed, my oral health... And I never get fat!

The fact that you don't get weight is related to the quantity of food you consume or the quality of it?

The fact that vegans only eat only salad is another myth. It is hard for me to get weight because my diet is based on fiber, so I digest food really fast. I eat a lot and several times at the day and I don't do diets. i try to eat as healthy as I can because there are also a lot of processed food with gluten, like the veggie burgers, etc... But even if I eat eat processed food for an entire week, I'm never going to get as much weight as if I was eating meat, and again, only because my diet is full of fiber. I really never eat salads, they bored me!

collage comida.png


What does it mean to be alkaline?

To be alkaline it means to have a body pH higher than 7. The pH is measured in a scale between 0 and 14. If you're acid, means your are between 1 and 5, if you're alkaline means you are between 8 and 14. We process fruits and vegetables in an alkaline way, but meat and animal derivatives are processed in a acid way. For example, lemon water makes your pH go higher, but everything derived from animals make your acidity levels go high, and the result can be a pale skin tone or even yellowy, same color you can notice in the eyes. You can also feel your hair dry and you nails might break easily and there is more propensity to have diseases like cancer. There are cases when someone can be vegan but alkaline, but this only means: 1.- That person smokes cigarettes or, 2.- Drinks a lot of alcohol or, 3.- Eats a lot of imitations like soy. But in general if someone eats full of vegetables, fruits and grains which is the basic of the vegan nutrition, it will be ok.

Do you think it is easier to be vegan in some countries?

Yes and no. In some countries it is easier to find imitations, but that’s not the only good a vegan should eat because it’s not healthy. I became a vegan in a small town in the USA where no one know what it is to be a vegan, that’s why I keep the premise that the best you can do if you decide to be vegan is to eat a lot of grains, vegetables and fruits. Being vegan is about being creative and really take the importance of being well nourished and everything is possible and valid in a vegan diet, the more variety the better. They is a lot of food in the shelfs at the supermarket that people don’t buy because they are not used to do so.


You once mentioned a vegan person tends to be happier than a carnivorous, can you explain more of that?

Yeah, sure! The first reason is very simple: veganism makes you feel good, and you feel good you are happy. If you physically feel good you are going to be ok. A vegan nutrition makes you feel lighter and energized, plus food rich of complex B and Zinc produce endorphins in the brain which are the neuropsychological bases for a good mood. There are also other spiritual tendencies that explain how when we eat meat we also ingest the energy that was left in the animal by the moment it was killed, so you make that energy part of you which means karma gets more heavy and also we start to react with more aggression and can be in a constant state of alert that is a natural reaction because of our animal nature, but in this case it gets altered and exacerbated.

491D61C7-E080-40D3-9911-6E9A481B20B5.jpeg


How do you start your world as a YouTuber?

I came to New York to do my master studies and one day the teacher said we had to create the trailer for a documentary. At the time I chose another theme, but when I was almost finishing the semester I decided to change it to veganism so I started the series called “My Vegan Daily” and I also created my blog, so while I was moving on in my studies and having more resources I was adding more elements till I finally created my website, the content and my videos. I finally decided to create my blog with the same name of the series because I think this lifestyle is so important, healthy and with so many positive aspects that I can’t really find something negative, so I wanted to share it with the world. What i want with the blog is to overthrow the negative stereotype veganism has been related to and help interested people to make a transition in a easy way.

What would you recommend to stop immediately for someone who’s not totally convinced in making this change of nutrition?

Well, in general, for those that are not 100% convinced I recommend to do a good research and educate yourselves. If you see it from the point of view of animal cruelty, I recommend to stop eating chicken as the first thing, because this industry does not have regulations and even if people thinks red meat is the worse you can eat, the way they produce chickens nowadays is way less healthier. But, at the end, I can sit here and say what is right or wrong and it’s not until people do some research and realize, that finally decide to change their lifestyles. I have documentaries in my website that can help make aware.


C05A58A6-E1CB-49CB-BC58-F52D0DA0DF06.jpeg


If you would like to know more about this lifestyle you can visit Emilia’s blog https://www.myvegandaily.com, where she will be sharing information about how to be vegan in a fun and nutritional way.

You can also visit the following links of her YouTube channel and subscribe to be part of her community!

Instagram: @myvegandaily

Sort:  

Basically my food contains 99% plants so it wouldn't be so hard for me, but it depend from person to person.

Absolutely, it’s about every unique organism :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by churdtzu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Being vegan is the best thing we can do 4 our planet. We need to connect where we belong and that is Nature. The feeling of being free, happy and full of joy.