How To Effectively Deal With Online Trolls [May Not Work On Hive]

in #video β€’ 4 years ago

Trolls Gonna Troll

2 WAYS OF DEALING WITH ONLINE TROLLS


πŸ‘‰π•Šπ•¦π•“π•”π•£π•šπ•“π•–πŸ‘ˆπŸ½



With online anonymity comes trolling, unfortunately. It's just the reality of the Internet and part of the fabric of social media generally. Having been online pretty much from the very beginning of the whole thing, I've developed a troll layer skin. Instead of attempting to deny reality by ridding myself of trolls, I instead embrace them.

In this video I talked about the two effective ways of dealing with trolls - one that I recommend for most people, and the other than I use ;)


Power trolling

These techniques may or may not work on Hive though, especially technique two that I use on other social media platforms. The difference is that Hive comes with power, and sometimes a lot of it. There's the power associated with removing your rewards for instance, affectionately known as the downvote.

Back in our old home, I got "trolled" by a massive whale for a sustained period fo time. It wasn't fun, and most people would be put off forever by it.


How do you deal with trolls?

Peace * Love,

Adé

Sort: Β 

I've not had too many troll issues, but some anonymous accounts do flag me. You are putting yourself out there online and some will take advantage of that. You just can't let it get to you. I am not sure how I would handle having millions of followers and the troll rate would probably increase, but as a white male I might get less than some people. It seems people feel they can be more racist and sexist when hiding behind their keyboard.

The Hive trolls can be an issue, but they are a tiny minority. Over time their power may be less significant if we can others to join and invest.

The people with millions of followers just top reading the comments. Some of them hire other people to read the comments for them. People like MKBHD or Retail Therapy on YouTube get hundreds of thousand (if not millions) of comments per video.

but as a white male I might get less than some people.

True, but you're at a very high risk of getting cancelled :)

It's a different world if you get to that level :)

I don't think I'm political enough to get cancelled

You saying "These techniques may or may not work on Hive though" just got me laughing. Hive is one strange place despite it uniqueness.

Well, well, well. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I love the fact you see positivity even in trolling. That's taking full advantage of the situation Man. Both tips are awesome and usable. One will just need to figure out when to apply them. Thanks for sharing this experience of your.

LOL, yeah trolls gonna troll. haha.