There's Now Such A Thing As A Half-Free Lunch

in #video β€’ 4 years ago

Eat Out To Help Out

THE UK GOVERNMENT WILL PAY HALF YOUR BILL



πŸ‘‰π•Šπ•¦π•“π•”π•£π•šπ•“π•–πŸ‘ˆπŸ½

They say "there's no such thing as a free lunch". Well, the saying is true. LOL. What where you expecting to hear?

Anyway, from the 3rd to the 31st of August 2020 (this month), you can now go out to participating establishments in the UK and eat/drink at a 50% discount! This is an initiative by the UK government to help kick start the UK hospitality economy. I think it's a great idea, even if it involves putting people in a little bit of a risk.

There are some rules and exemptions that may disappoint some people. One is the fact that alcohol is exempt from the scheme. LOL. I don't blame the government for that. Imagine a blanket 50% off booze in the UK. Haha. Let's not even go there.

There is a Β£10 cap on each visit per person. You can leave, return and get the discount again as many times as you want though.

So what do you all think? Is this a good idea? Do you have something similar in your country?

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort: Β 

I love this idea. As long as the places implementing it don't have skyrocketing coronavirus rates and as long as there's a rule about distance and wearing masks (unless you're eating), to me it's probably low risk.

My husband and I went to restaurants twice over the weekend. We sat outside at outdoor patios both times, but how was it good to be out! I'm starting to dread winter a bit. I don't think I'll be ready to sit inside in a restaurant until the numbers show some serious declines here in the U.S.

I'm still scared to go dine indoors to be honest. I've done the outdoor cafe thing once and I was there for 5 minutes haha. I'm a coronavirus wimp. I don't want it (even though I think I've already had it way back in January).

Twitter Posh link ->