Simple Math on Hive vs. Bitcoin (yes, I said that)

in #video4 years ago

First of all, this is not financial advice because I am not a financial advisor. I just do math from time to time, and because this is important, I'm going to share.

I just had a thought based on @adetorrent's Bitcoin to the Rekt Side of the Moon -- you need to watch that video to understand the bulk of his very important message. Don't get carried away with the FOMO. If you have been paying attention to @penguinpablo's early charting of Hive and noticed the way a few big actors can buy and sell and move entire markets, you are equipped to look at the moves in Bitcoin and AT LEAST take precautions!

But it was the last thing he wrote in that post that got my attention because of something I remembered and have seen ... the best investment in Hive vs. Bitcoin may not be the one the hype suggests.

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning my video :)

You're absolutely right. The potential in Hive is tremendous compared to Bitcoin. The only thing Bitcoin has going for it, is the volume. You can get in and out of it very quickly because of the liquidity in the market. However, Hive has life changing potential for so many.

I also do the HBD Hive thing. I even try trading back and forth when I have time or notice any huge price swings.

I hope I said your name right in the video ... is the pronunciation Ah-day?

I think people are dazzled by Bitcoin because it was first, and because, well, $11,000... but that ship to $11,000 or wherever it may go has mostly sailed. But one has to sit down in calm analysis not to end up on "the rekt side of the moon" chasing what Bitcoin USED to do. However, Bitcoin is also useful in that it can carry Hive up with it .. go, Bitcoin, for that reason alone!

Meanwhile, the quiet humility of coming and working away on Hive does not have the excitement ... not until Hive achieves $1 or $3 or $10 ... but AGAIN, by that time, that ship will have largely sailed for the newcomers. The chase of excitement and FOMO is a great waster of value.

My feeling is this: Hive has already enriched my life in more ways than I can put here. This is true for thousands and thousands of others. We are all Hive's use case. So, I come and invest my time and talent every day, humbly, recognizing the privilege.

Glad to know I wasn't the only one noticing the HBD/Hive thing ... while I generally don't pay attention to the big swings that sometimes do occur (like HBD was actually $1 a couple of days ago), it dawned on me that if a run is anticipated, it would make sense to come out of HBDs and into Hive, and then put the Hive back into HBDs and lock up gains that way -- an exit strategy on every run. In theory -- but THIS IS NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE, just how I think -- this would be true for Hivers who are in other cryptocurrencies and another point of advantage to Hive itself. WE HAVE A STABLECOIN, thereby avoiding the necessity of going into fiat or any other stablecoin to lock in gains.