Civ 6 Steam Price Hack!

in #videogames4 years ago

Hey everybody! This is NOT a sponsored post.

I just want to share my cleverness with whomever thinks this is clever.

Right now Steam is holding their supersale on Civ 6.

After a modicum of consideration, I convinced myself that I would play it even though I have civ 5 but choose to play civ 4 instead. I was informed by friends that they preferred 6, and so, since I want to play with them, I ... well, you know.

So, at the Steam store, I see that supersale. Civ 6 is $14.99, usually $59.99. Good enough.

But... YOHO.

DLC in bundles.

Now, I try not to fall for marketing gimmicks, but I also have heard from friends, when I complained that civ 5 was less appealing to me than civ 4, that you NEEDED the expansions to get the full experience.

Well blast me to gosh darn outer space, I shall not fall for their gold-encrusted ice cream scam!

So, I never did, and happily played civ 4.

But here is this bundle staring me in the face... wait... TWO bundles?

So, the base game is $14.99.

There's a Civilizations bundle for 80% off at $7.60. (which doesn't include the base game)

and there's a PREMIUM bundle which says it's an additional 46% off, but which is $47.63

Hm.

What's in the premium bundle?

It's the game, the civilizations bundle, and two expansions (that I assume are akin to the Beyond the Sword and Warlords expansions of Civ 4)

BUT!

They take the sale price of the base game... and a sale price for those expansions, but NOT the sale price of the civilizations bundles.

Time to research what happens if you already own elements of a bundle before purchase...
YES AHA!

Here's the hack:

You have to buy the standalone game first $14.99 with the 80% off civilizations bundle $7.60 ($22.59)

Then you buy the premium bundle, which doesn't make you buy what you already own, and so is $18.88.

$41.47 is less than $47.63!

MUAHAHA! We saved more than 6 dollars! We have hacked the world!
Capture.JPG

Sort:  

By the way, these discounts are good until... I think October 7th, 2020?

No guarantees. I don't work for Steam.