Decent street art I found

in #vietnam3 years ago

It isn't easy to find street art in Da Nang because of the fact that the government apparently punished people extensively for trying to do it. I don't necessarily disagree with this notion because most street art isn't actually street art but instead is garbage crap done by someone with a bone to pick or is simply trying to spread some sort of gang bullshit.

Every now and then a business owner opens up their exterior walls for someone with some talent to do some artwork and in the case of this, according to the owner of this place, it was multiple artists that were all working together.

138811257_873172916832339_2674873556547053635_n.jpg

This is a mix of brush and spray art and a lot of it has a lot in common with the stuff we see hastily put around the rest of the town that is done in an incomplete manner which makes me think that the artists are the same people that are doing illegal tagging elsewhere.

KOB for example, is a name that you see all over town and most of it is just awful. I don't know who this person is but they (he / she / they) should really IMO just stick to pieces that they are allowed to do by owners of businesses such as this one.

When I see this callsign or whatever the real word is all over town mostly the work is really bad and that is almost certainly because the artist(s) are afraid of getting caught. Some of it is so bad that I wish they would get caught and also prosecuted.

138088758_416223199657037_3935849519647503697_n.jpg

I am kind of in the middle of all of this because while I appreciate street art probably more than any other kind of art, I also don't like it when people go and do some work on a piece of property that is not their own without permission. For example: I would not like it if someone were to put an amazing mural on the side of my parents' house in the middle of the night regardless of how good it is in the end.

This is different. They had the opportunity to spend as much time as they wanted without fear of getting caught and in the end even though it is a mish-mash of stuff it still looks pretty cool.

If you want to have a look at it this can all be found in the My An area of Da Nang near the beach. Come and see us some day!