Sunday Vinyl - David Bowie - Part Three

in #vinyl3 years ago

David Bowie - Low 1977
I only like side 1 to be honest. "Be my Wife" always reminds me of that Drugged up to the eyeballs Official Video of the song he did. "Always crashing in the same car" is another excellent song.

David Bowie - Heroes 1977
Billed as the album that saved his life. The story goes that he and Iggy Pop flew off to Germany to "Learn how to be good again." an interesting time in his life where he lived quite modestly and openly eating in run down cafes and using public transport daily something he talks about towards the end of his life on the song Where Are We Now? from the album The Next Day.

Lyrics
Had to get the train
From Potsdamer Platz
You never knew that
That I could do that…

The album has the proper version of Heroes with the four verses radio stations always leave out. One of my personal favourite is The Secret Life of Arabia I could never understand why he didn't release it as a single?

David Bowie - Stage 1978
A good album, always sounded tinny to me however, at the time, it gave me a good idea of what it must have sounded like at the Hammersmith Palace and Ziggy Stardust (Before he released the show both on album and video a few years later)

David Bowie - Lodger 1979
Quite a quirky album tbh and wasn't to everyone's taste at the time. I used to annoy my mum by blasting out Look Back in Anger What a prophetic line that probably was for him? Little did I know it at the time.

Lyric
You know who I am, he said
The speaker was an angel
He coughed and shook his crumpled wings
Closed his eyes and moved his lips
It's time we should be going

I cry a little inside now when I hear those lines.

David Bowie - Scary Monster (and Super Creeps) 1980
Just a brilliant album! ♫ ♪ "I'm not a piece of teenage, wildlife..." ♬ ♩ I certainly wasn't I was on the tail-end of 19 and spending my days getting drunk and having a right old time.
(Boy did we spend some money in the 80's LOL).


I own all of the vinyl albums shown here except for the few that belong to my wife. Each album is generally played in its entirety unless I dislike a side.

These posts are tagged 'vinyl' 'records' 'music' and 'castlecannon' please feel free to hijack the comments and post your (Vinyl) records in the comments or drop me a ping for any Vinyl records post(s) you make.


"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

You've got a great collection. We saw him play all of Low when he curated the Meltdown festival. Support was the Dandy Warhols who played noise for an hour that was pretty bad. Bowie played the hits in the second half of his set.

We have visited a few locations in Berlin including seeing his flat, before they put up a plaque, and had the Hansa Sound studio tour with his engineer. It's worth the trip.

I'm Jealous.

I suspect there are ideally another two parts to come. By then everyone should be well and truly fed up with it. 🤣