GoPro Hero 8 Black: So Much More Than Just an "Action-Cam"!

in #vlog3 years ago

When you think of the GoPro Hero series what comes to mind?
For me it was something like amateur X-Games footage.
Well, you know skating, biking, etc.
And the Hero 8 can do all of those things. There's even a special mount for surf boards.
But that's not really what I needed a camera for.
Luckily GoPro didn't forget about content-creators like myself, and expanded the Hero 8 with a whole new series of "mods" that are created with content-creation and vlogging in mind.

20210901_014938.png

In my latest video I test out the GoPro Hero 8 Black with several add-ons and "mods".

20210727_060057.jpg

Left to Right:

Shorty:

A selfie stick and tripod solution.

GoPro Hero 8 Black:

The famous "action camera" popular among sport enthusiasts.

Media Mod 8:

GoPro's product to expand the capabilities of the Hero 8 past action-cam and into a solution for vloggers and content-creators like myself.
The Media Mod adds:

  • Corner-mounted directional microphone that can be changed in software from Front to Back or Stereo.
  • Micro-HDMI out for audio/video output.
  • 1/8" Audio Input Jack for an external microphone
  • Top & Side Shoe Mounts for add-ons.

The Hero 8 has a feature-rich operating system that you operate through the touch-screen display, voice-control, or the GoPro Quik app:

Screenshot from 20210728_023721.mp4.png

Hero 8 with Media Mod and attachments from a cheap phone vlogging kit: DigiPower Shotgun Mic & LED Light:

image.png

Additionally Reviewed:

  • Jaws: A Large clamp and articulating arm for positioning GoPro.
  • Light Mod: A battery powered, shoe-mountable, and very bright compact light from GoPro.
  • Display Mod: A small battery-powered front-facing HD display that lets you see what you're filming on the Hero 8.

I tested the Jaws clamp out by attaching the GoPro to my rifle:

image.png

There's also a basic demo of the GoPro Quik app for phones that lets you control all of the settings, and see what you're filming on the GoPro with your phone.
I tried to cover all the bases in the video, but if you've read this post I'm trying to give you a reason to watch so check the video out towards the top of this post!

Thanks,
Jay, DS-Tech Media.

Sort:  

Little love on this post so I sent you a tip. It was also nice to see a gopro in action. I will probably buy one when bitcoin heads back on upwards. Do you think it would be good for a video podcast? I'd probably need an external mic?

Wow, and thank you!

So yes, I'd definitely say the external mic is a must have. Unfortunately they've made it so that if you want to use an external mic you have to buy the Media Mod, and that itself costs an extra $79US when I bought mine.
But it's worth noting that I've heard the Media Mod for the Hero 9 is much better than the Media Mod I have.

Also now I believe the Hero 10 is out.

OH, and! There's a Chinese based company called Insta-360 with competing action-cameras to Go-Pro, and I think they might be offering some better features than at least the Hero8/9. But I haven't tested them myself so I can't say for sure.
But as far as video goes on my Hero 8 I do like it.

Depending on what matters to you though a lot of Youtubers use DSLR cameras from Nikon/Canon/Sony etc, and they of course also have external microphone capabilities.
Some people will record video/sound on the DSLR, and also with an external microphone to the computer. They then download the video to the computer, and sync up the microphone's audio with the camera audio based on the audio the camera also captured. They will usually clap 3 times when they start, and that is easily visible in software for syncing.

Those make sense for recording in a studio/at home, but they aren't good for anything where you are walking around whereas the Go-Pro is small and can be handled with the "selfie-stick" while walking.
The Go-Pro gives you the ability to record in 4K, but not everyone wants to do full 4K because it's more intensive to work with in an editor on the computer. Also means longer render/export times.

I like my GoPro, but I'm also hesitant to recommend it because it's a lot of money and I don't know for sure that it was worth it for what I do.

Hope that helps.