Winners - Paying it Forward (#PIF) - How much do you Love Books? Contest ed 6

in #vyb2 years ago

Winners.jpg

And today brings to a close the 6th edition of my monthly contest to pay it forward...Sorry I've been so rubbish this week at responding promptly to comments. I was involved in some other on-chain endeavours to improve engagement across Hive and ironically I feel that my own usual engagement on my posts and that of those I follow suffered a little in the process.

But I am back❣️

Thank you all for such wonderful entries and for sharing your hearts with us. I loved reading each and every one of your entries and will refer back to this post whenever I am in need of inspiration for a new book to read.

So ...I guess it's my turn now, hehe.

1) Tell us about one of the pivotal moments that cemented your love for reading. Was it a person, a place, a specific book, or a story?

As many have said in the comments, I feel I was born to read, but I did have a few things that heavily influenced my love for reading and for words.

One was my Mom who played countless games of scrabble with me throughout my childhood and teen years. We were often up past midnight, sat on my parent's bed in the still light of her bedside lamp (whilst my Dad slept), just the board and letters lay between us. My Dictionary and Thesaurus were never far from reach. I treasure those memories. When she passed going on 3 years ago, I was helping my Dad to clear out one of the cupboards and came across our old Scrabble set inside a canvas bank bag. The board looked a little worse for wear but it lay intact with all the tiles to accompany it. I rescued it and brought it home with me across the oceans and continents to its resting place here in England where I hope to start playing with my own two boys as soon as they progress from the Junior version.

The second was my Standard 3 teacher at Primary School. She read to us every single day. She had this cute little grey terrier called Socks that used to accompany her to school and we would all huddle on the carpet alongside Socks and become immersed in the wonderful worlds created through my teacher's expressive voice and choice of literature. She read us The Hobbit, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, My Side of the Mountain, The Magic Faraway Tree, and I am David. I also remember reading Bridge to Terabithia whilst in her class.

The third was my discovery of Enid Blyton. Every child should discover Enid. I found myself lost in the Adventures of The Famous Five and devoured every book in every series, such was my love for the cousins and their escapades. They spirited me away to a place of thrills and spills and adventure.

2) What are your top 3 books from your childhood and tell us about your social affinity to one of your faves; how it found a place in your heart.

Well, I kinda answered this in (1) above lol but here are my 4! (breaking my own rules ... I'm not the first haha):

Let's see my erm...10 faves (see what I did there😍😆 - gosh how could I have made you choose only 3???!!!):

The Hobbit - JRR Tolkien
The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - C.S. Lewis
I am David - Anne Holme
My Side of the Mountain - Jean Craighead George
Bridge to Terabithia - Katherine Paterson
Jonathan Livingston Seagull - Richard Bach
Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) - Antoine de Sant Exupery
The Secret of the Sycamore Tree - Sue Hart
The Journey of the Soul - Victoria Parker Sober
The Flicka Trilogy - Mary O'Hara (My friend Flicka, Thunderhead, and Green Grass of Wyoming)

3) Share with us 3 of your favorite authors and titles that you have read as an adult, where you either had to acquire your own copy for your personal library or would go back and reread for the sheer joy and experience of it

I have read so broadly as an adult, from the spiritual, philosophical, through memoir, pilgrimage, science, neurology, autism, summer reads, historical fiction, and non-fiction... it never ends. I have way too many faves...I'll be here all day if I allow my analytical mind to trawl through and pinpoint the absolute faves. Instead, I'll list a few authors who made an impact on me at various times in my life and the book of theirs that started me off on each journey to read everything that they had written or simply to get lost in the message they were providing in that single book. Through my High School and University Years, I have enjoyed everything from Shakespeare's Hamlet to Jane Austen's Persuasion, Louisa May Alcott's Little Women to Alan Paton's Cry, the Beloved Country, and Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart.

Some of my faves as an adult include (excluding anything technical lol):

Richard Bach - Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Richard Bach's stories of spirituality, life's pursuits, challenges, love, and friendship, written against a backdrop of flight, and woven into thought-provoking stories are an absolute delight.

Shirley Maclaine - Out on a Limb

Shirley Maclaine's memoirs ignited in me a love for the genre. Her outspoken manner cuts across Hollywood and she peppers her memoirs with amusing anecdotes, spiritual awakenings, and a zest for life.

Stan Schmidt - Spirit of the Empty Hand

My love affair with Karate and the martial arts culminated with a face-to-face meeting with Stan Schmidt when he signed a copy of his autobiography for me. I was later privileged to train alongside Sensei Stan during a Karate tour of Johannesburg. He was an incredible master of the art and led his life by the 5 maxims of karate: Character, sincerity, effort, etiquette, and self-control. He was a true inspiration to everyone whose life he touched. I will always remember him asking me why I did karate. My answer was short and simple and from the heart: Because I enjoy it.

He had the biggest smile on his face as he inscribed his book with the message To Sam, may you pass on your joy to others, Osu Stan Schmidt. When I completed his book, I had the biggest smile on my face. I realised why my answer had struck a note with him. His book ends with the line: At least I'm beginning to enjoy it all.

Stephenie Meyer - The Twilight Saga

Philip Pullman - His Dark Materials

Ok...well I broke ALL the rules of my contest, but I guess rules were made to be broken when they are that stupid to start with hehe.

And now for the winners:

The new Hivian winner of the 50 Hive delegation for 3 months is:

@itsostylish - Congrats. Delegation will be with you shortly!

The rest of the winners are as follows:

@deraaa 8 LOLZ tokens
@agreste 2 HBI
@ayesha-malik 8 LOLZ tokens
@flamistan 2 HBI
@itsostylish 10 LUV tokens
@khaleesii 10 LUV tokens
@creativemary 500 POB delegation for 3 months
@yaziris 20 PIZZA tokens
@alekst7 2 HBI
@calumam 2 HBI
@amberkashif 500 VYB delegation for 3 months
@khoola 2 HBI
@queenstarr - 5 PIZZA tokens 'cos nobody goes home empty-handed this month
@rentmoney - 5 PIZZA tokens 'cos nobody goes home empty-handed this month
@preets - 5 PIZZA tokens 'cos nobody goes home empty-handed this month

The process of selection appears below:

Firstly I used the randomiser on random.org to randomise the entries into a new list. Here is this list below:

PIF names.jpg

Then I used the randomiser to randomise all the prizes into a new order. See below:

pif prizes.jpg

Finally, I matched the two lists to each other, giving me the winners' names with the prizes they had won. The last 3 people on the first list were left without an official prize, so I have awarded them each 5 PIZZA as a consolation.

@calumam, over to you ;-)

Until next month folks, hopefully I'll be bumping into you on the blockchain, more often than not by design :-)

Sources

Image created in Canva Pro

The Random.org images are screenshots from my phone.

Sort:  

@deraaa, @agreste, @ayesha-malik, @flamistan, @itsostylish, @khaleesii, @creativemary, @yaziris, @alekst7, @amberkashif, @khoola, @queenstarr, @rentmoney, @preets I have just staked 150 VYB to each of you on behalf of @calumam and the VYB management team to recognise the genuine effort put in with your entries to the monthly Paying it Forward Contest. This VYB was sponsored by @vyb.contests and @vyb.vyb. Thank you @calumam for your continued support in rewarding good content, including that in the comments! The rationale for allocation was decided by @calumam. Cal, I have also returned 150 Vyb to the vyb.contests account as although I did count 15 genuine entries, I had forgotten that one of them was yours.

Oh, what a surprise, thank you so much @samsmith1971 and @calumam!

Wow, more & more gifts 🎁🎁
This is awesome, thank you so much @samsmith1971 and thank you @calumam for your generousity.
Much love to you both🤗🌸

Thankyou @calumam for this generosity and support

Thank you! Very much appreciated :)

That’s so sweet. 😊 Thank you❤️

More stuff? Yay! 😁

Thank you @samsmith1971 it was lovely to participate, and thanks to @calumam and @vyb.vyb

Thank you so much, I appreciate it.

Hi.. Thank you so much @samsmith @calumam 😄

Thank you, that's very nice)

Thanks for the !PIZZA.

Very cool story about getting to train Karate with with Stan Schmidt. Your answer to his question was perfect. Got to enjoy training in the martial art of choice and everything else will fall in place. I did a little Greco Roman Wrestling for a few years. The skills and life lessons learned in any combat sports is worth its weight in gold.

The skills and life lessons learned in any combat sports is worth its weight in gold.

Absolutely! Martial arts is something for me that has given me focus and discipline throughout most of my life. I had to put Karate and Jiu Jitsu on the back burner when my kids needed me a bit more and then covid broke out and my sensei here in England ended up closing his dojo down, but my plan is to return again...as I always seem to do after every setback 💗 There is an invisible thread that ties my heart to this martial art. Greco Roman Wrestling must have been super fun and interesting!!!

see what I did there😍😆 - gosh how could I have made you choose only 3???

That's what I thought. Lol. How come you restricted us to 3 while you yourself got the opportunity to apeak about 10. That's unfair 😂😉😃

The thing that you told about your mom playing with you inspired me a lot. I realized I am not giving the quality time to my kids out of other responsibilities. At their age playful books are more important than academic books. I will try to extract a slot of time for them.

Thanks for the delegation ❤

You are welcome. Yes, my time playing with my mom is a very big happy memory for me now as an adult, especially with her gone.

Thank you very much for the hbi! Very interesting your responses. Glad to discover that we both enjoyed Enid Blyton's adventure books in our childhood!

Thank you for sharing your stories @samsmith1971, I'm sure your boys will have some great memories just like you had with your mom playing scrabble.

Very interesting list of books, plenty to look into for me! I will check them out for sure.

Congrats to everyone who participated!

And of course thank you for the !PIZZA

Thank you @yaziris. They both seem to have developed their own love for writing so my hope is that they will enjoy the progression as the years pass❣️

I'm sure they will!
Lucky for them their mother is an encouraging awesome writer, they will benefit greatly from that. 😉

Aw you're sweet. I happen to think you're pretty awesome too!

Thank you very much @samsmith1971. It's an honor and I appreciate it 😩❤️

Thank you very much! and congrats to the winners hope to see you guys next month!

I love scrabble, did that with my dad and aunt. Chess as well, I do hopw I can get back to reading again still lots of books I would like to read :).

That's awesome Mat! I loved chess growing up. My dad taught me how to play and I played for the school team at Primary School. My boys both love chess too and have their own sets.

That is really nice... chess is a good exercise for memory skills.

Haven't played for a long time (not that good back then either 🤣)... but I did love playing for ours with my Dad. Along with Scrabbles where we get penalized if the word is not in the dictionary.

not many players now than back then.

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

Love that one too💗

I won something? Awesome😎
Yes I'm in the bottom 3,speaking of luck ayye😅
Thank you🤗

Aye, sorry @queenstarr... maybe next time hehe... but you do get some PIZZA to add to your pot. I'm doing the transfers now.

Yes and I'm so happy. Thank you so much🤗

Ahh enjoyed every bit of your story. I may pick one of your favourites to read soon. Thank you for sharing 😊
Thank you @samsmith for the pizza tokens too 😄

hehe ...I hope you enjoy them if you ever get a chance to read them any of them and enjoy the PIZZA :-)

That’s amazing! Thank you Sam❤️❤️❤️
Great selection, too. Quite interesting to see The Twilight Saga in there because I enjoyed it also. Haha, just goes to show ❤️💕❤️💕

My pleasure hun. Do you know I came across the Twilight Saga when the first film aired on telly. Hubby and I sat down to watch it, kinda half interested because you know...Vampires...mmm...but I was drawn in hook, line, and sinker! The first thing I did after watching that film was to order the books online! And when they arrived I devoured them, from Twilight through to Breaking Dawn. I have not as yet read The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. Did you get a chance to read this last addition to the story?

No, I haven’t read it yet. ❤️

I have gotten my book and I am writing down some interesting-looking titles up there.

Also, thank you for the LUV tokens, and congratulations to everyone else.

You are very welcome. Yes, so many great-looking recommendations across the board. Bookmark this post for sure❣️

I'll get right to looking for them.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@yaziris(1/5) tipped @samsmith1971 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @samsmith1971! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @samsmith1971.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more