The ancient sites of Athens and their 4 legged fauna (part 1)

in #walk2 years ago

Among my favourite hobbies is experiencing my birthplace as a visitor. It makes me more objective about Athens and freshens up my point of view which is an intriguing procedure. Luckily enough, you can just sit and watch what I harvested during my last walk around the historic center, or maybe unlucky enough to not experience this bright sunny Athenian day. Let's go!

My initial intention is to visit Acropolis (yeah, surprise surprise eh?) the site of sites. This brings me outside the museum of Acropolis early in the morning in my attempt to skip the crowd:
DSC_0002.JPG

As you can see (it's the building on the left) it doesn't really blend with the rest much older buildings around but that's my only criticism about it as they have done such a wonderful job inside. However, I can't wait to enter Acropolis itself so I pass it and steps later I have my first view to it in the background right in front of Acropolis metro station:
DSC_0003.JPG

Not close enough yet though. As soon as I reach the pedestrian street that connects several antiquities around the center I take a couple of distant shots:
DSC_0004.JPG

DSC_0005.JPG

This next building is so lucky to be decorated like this only because the museum of Acropolis was built next to it:

DSC_0006.JPGDSC_0007.JPG

Of course the most lucky thing about all the guys staying around is that they are THAT close to this:
DSC_0008.JPG

This might be the most important thing around by far but it's not the only one. Here is Herodion theater, a gem from the Roman period which today is venue for some of the most important gigs in Athens:

DSC_0009.JPGDSC_0010.JPGDSC_0011.JPG

Aaaand finally I walk up to the entrance of Acropolis in full excitement to revisit this place for the Nth time...only to see this:

DSC_0012.JPG

DSC_0013.JPG

I hate queues like no one else does. Sorry to disappoint you but can't wait for all these guys to enter. However, a local always has a plan B and I certainly do. Follow me;)

You see this?
DSC_0014.JPG

Empty as it gets right? Extremely rare image as it's a very popular destination but not for early birds like me. It's the Areios Pagos hill, named after the ancient supreme court which used to be there. So, let's see what's on top.

There's two ways to make it to the top, one is the old rocky stairway which today is slippery AF:

DSC_0015.JPG

And the other is this metal stairway:
DSC_0016.JPG

The early bird catches the best images so here I am (almost) all alone taking the first picture:
DSC_0018.JPG

I intentionally left my shadow in it so you have an idea of how low the sun still is. I love the overview of Athens this spot offers so, be my guest:
DSC_0020.JPG

DSC_0024.JPG

DSC_0019.JPG

DSC_0023.JPG

Sorry for the absence of Acropolis, here is its West side though:
DSC_0025.JPG

I take a walk on the pedestrian streets around Acropolis on this lovely early morning enjoying the green surrounding area as well:

DSC_0026.JPG

DSC_0028.JPG

DSC_0029.JPG

DSC_0027.JPG

Lucky residents in these cute houses - view to Acropolis every single day!
DSC_0030.JPG

DSC_0033.JPG

DSC_0034.JPG

And this nice walk right in their front door:
DSC_0031.JPG

OK, I skipped Acropolis but this doesn't mean I'll leave you without ancient sites.
Fancy visiting the Ancient Agora? Follow me:
DSC_0035.JPG

As you can already see, nothing like the crowds Acropolis attracts but that's because I'm early enough there. Later this will be flooded too. This area is one of my favourites. You get a good amount of vegetation,
DSC_0037.JPG

and an even greater amount of ancient Hellenic art:
DSC_0040.JPG

DSC_0041.JPG

DSC_0038.JPG

However, the most impressive part of this site is (IMHO at least), the Temple of Hephaestus, the one you can see in the background in the middle:
DSC_0042.JPG

Still there's nice bits around,
DSC_0043.JPG

And important ones like this headless statue of Emperor Adrian:

DSC_0045.JPG

But I can't wait to walk up to my favourite temple:
DSC_0044.JPG

DSC_0046.JPG

And as soon as I manage I adore its beauty complimented by the early morning warm sunlight:
DSC_0048.JPG

As you can see I struggle to fit its entirety in one image but I hope you literally get the picture. I'd better let images do the talking for this temple which is the most well preserved of its kind:
DSC_0050.JPG

DSC_0056.JPG

DSC_0049.JPG

DSC_0051.JPG

DSC_0052.JPG

DSC_0054.JPG

DSC_0057.JPG

DSC_0058.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

DSC_0061.JPG

DSC_0062.JPG

The view from the temple is gorgeous too. Acropolis included:
DSC_0063.JPG

DSC_0064.JPG

DSC_0065.JPG

Gives you a good overview of the Ancient Agora though the harsh sunlight drying up the night's moisture is not camera friendly.

Bye temple, see you later:
DSC_0066.JPG

Hello kitty!
DSC_0067.JPG

DSC_0068.JPG

That's the first 4 legged sweetheart I meet and discretely picture in order to not spoil her sunbathing. Glad to see that actually she needed some company so walked towards me hence the last catwalk shot.

To be continued...

Sort:  

I’m looking forward to the next instalment. We haven’t yet been to Athens but have been to other parts of Greece. I’ll bookmark this for when we do visit, I’d love to follow this walk.

More than happy to walk you around then! Thank you for stopping by and re blogging🙂

It would be cool to meet with Hivians around Europe

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Πολύ ωραίες η φωτογραφίες, Αθήνα μένω, αν θες να κανονίσουμε κανα καφέ και να μιλήσουμε για κρύπτο πες μου...