The ancient sites of Athens and their 4 legged fauna (part 2)

in #walk2 years ago

Sorry for leaving you in the middle of my walk around the Ancient Agora of Athens but my previous post was already rather long plus there's a limit on upload that I can't exceed anyway. So, here's where I have the luck to spend my time at:
DSC_0070.JPG

It's so lovely to have images like this filling your eyes in total absence of anything contemporary cause on the other side there's bits in the background that spoil this sensational view:
DSC_0073.JPG

My next aim is to visit the Stoa of Attalos, this long building in the distance:
DSC_0071.JPG

DSC_0072.JPG

I might be walking the Ancient Agora but this is belongs to the Roman period. It's also the building where the expansion of Europe was signed back in the early 2000s. Let's have a closer look:
DSC_0074.JPG

How could the EU leaders imagine back in the day that 20 years later we'd be experiencing a war on the East end of our Union? Well, some of them should actually. At least mr. Schroeder...
A funny bit I recall from that time is that our PM welcomed Tony Blair by saying "As you can see we have some nice marbles here" with the UK PM replying looking at his entourage "You can't escape that guy...". Again, how could mr. Blair imagine that 20 years later we'd be closer to the return of Parthenon's marbles than ever. Times change...

In front of that historic building one can also see the oldest orthodox temple of Athens, dating back to the late 900s:
DSC_0076.JPG

Close your eyes and imagine you have a nice house right next to one of the most important ancient sites of the world..now open them:
DSC_0077.JPG

Still I can't take my eyes of the temple of Hephaestus (see why in my previous post):
DSC_0078.JPG

Funny thing is that a moment later a place draws an arrow above it:
DSC_0081.JPG

I can spend the whole day there taking various pictures as the vary same spot in front of the Stoa of Attalos offers top view but let's just put just one more which shows the National Observatory of Athens far in the middle,
DSC_0082.JPG

and let's enter that extra long Stoa:
DSC_0083.JPG

Just a couple of steps and you're in its impressive ground floor:
DSC_0085.JPG

Which is full of statues,
DSC_0086.JPG

DSC_0087.JPG

DSC_0089.JPG

DSC_0090.JPG

And nice view through its arches:

DSC_0088.JPG

Inside this building is a museum with nice items like the following one:

DSC_0092.JPG

(You can enjoy a walk inside the museum while watching a 4K video I will post later)

I love the ground floor so much that as I exit I can't resist a few more shots:

DSC_0093.JPG

DSC_0094.JPG

DSC_0095.JPG

Here's how the rest of the city looks like from the North end of Stoa:

DSC_0096.JPG

The oldest metro line of Athens is just one breath away:

DSC_0097.JPGDSC_0099.JPG

And here is me struggling to capture the whole building from the very same spot:
DSC_0098.JPG

As you see it's got one more floor so let's see what's waiting the visitors up there:

DSC_0100.JPG

Oups, that's a tall one!

DSC_0101.JPG

Huge column!
DSC_0103.JPG

I love that the upper floor is full of miniatures of the Agora and Acropolis. Nice job!

DSC_0105.JPG

DSC_0104.JPG

DSC_0108.JPG

DSC_0109.JPG

The view from up there is even more impressive. The observatory's hill in its full beauty:
DSC_0106.JPG

The temple of Hephaestus just got one more arrow above it:
DSC_0107.JPG

And both of them compose this stunning view:
DSC_0111.JPG

Of course there's numerous statues as well:

DSC_0110.JPG

As I leave the whole Agora behind I am exposed to the intense contradictions this capital offers. An under construction ancient site, surrounded by old and new buildings peppered with some graffiti:
DSC_0114.JPG

A few graffiti later I find this rather insecure kitten:
DSC_0115.JPG

Regardless how tender I am she is too afraid to socialize so I continue my walk as I still have lots to see and it's not early anymore meaning that I have less chances to take picture in the absence of humanity.

To be continued...
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Brilliant history wrapped up in grand old architecture, rightly pointing out the wheels of time continuously turning.

!BEER Sorry I missed the post earlier still battling with internet, found you in curation of OCD-POSH

Thanks for your attention!


Hey @orestistrips, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.