The ancient sites of Athens and their 4 legged fauna (part 3)

in #walk2 years ago

Takes many parts to cover only part of a casual walk around Athenian antiquities - if nothing else we the citizens of this important city are very lucky. Walking down the pedestrian (and most commercial) street Ermou brings me outside the ancient cemetery of Athens named Kerameikos:
DSC_0117.JPG

DSC_0118.JPG

It's true that you can see most of this site from the outside and it is also true that it's not among the most impressive ones but things are always different from the inside and luckily for you I have the time to enter for a walk around.

First thing one can see inside is this crazy amount of unidentified ancient items:
DSC_0119.JPG

You know you're rich in history when you have so much stuff lying like this 🙂

A gifted animal inspired an artist 25 hundred years ago and this is the result:

DSC_0120.JPGDSC_0124.JPG

I get a feeling you're curious to see one from behind:

DSC_0121.JPG

No sun tan for those beautiful ladies regardless their eternal exposure:

DSC_0122.JPG

A clear blue sky makes the perfect background for the ancient Hellenic art:

DSC_0123.JPGDSC_0125.JPG

Orthodox churches inside ancient sites are not rare in Greece as Christians often tended to build them over ancient ruins (gross but that's another story) - this one is dedicated to the Holy Trinity:
DSC_0126.JPG

Despite the not so early hour luckily I still can enjoy my walk in the absence of humanity:
DSC_0128.JPG

DSC_0129.JPG

DSC_0127.JPG

This arch catches my eye but the sun challenges the camera:

DSC_0131.JPG

DSC_0130.JPG

Can you spot the turtle?
DSC_0133.JPG

This must be heaven for them having all this green area for themselves. Lucky you!
DSC_0134.JPG

Not that I feel unlucky in a place like this on such a sweet day:
DSC_0135.JPG

DSC_0137.JPG

DSC_0138.JPG

DSC_0136.JPG

However, I doubt everyone else is feeling as lucky and grateful. Look at this:
DSC_0139.JPG

Yep, that's a fucking beverage can lying there:
DSC_0139(2).jpg

Other than that I can't complain with a view like this:

DSC_0140.JPG

DSC_0141.JPG

DSC_0142.JPG

DSC_0143.JPG

I've already walked the perimeter of the site which brings me back to the other side of that Orthodox church:
DSC_0144.JPG

Where, this cute kitten is blissfully sunbathing:
DSC_0145.JPG

DSC_0146.JPG

Orthodoxy, condominium, antiquity and nature:

DSC_0147.JPG

I prefer to stare at the last two to be honest:

DSC_0148.JPG

I meet 2 cats chatting a couple of steps later:
DSC_0149.JPG

Fun fact: the black one has hiccup 🙂 - check it out at the video in the end of this series.

I gladly fill my eyes with this view:
DSC_0151.JPG

But looking down is not that bad either - what a sweetheart!
DSC_0153.JPG

I leave Kerameikos and its cats behind to continue my antiquity tour under a laser penetrating sun. Seriously, it really feels like that:

DSC_0154.JPG

I'm not complaining though as long as its not too hot and I still have much to see ahead.

To be continued...
Sort:  

Το τενεκεδακι και η εκκλησία, περιγραφουν συντομα την σύγχρονη εικονα της πατριδας μας! Πολυ καλη δουλειά, όπως πάντα!

Έτσι ακριβώς. Μάλλον το πέταξε κάποιο γίδι απ' έξω γιατί μέσα δεν αφήνουν να κρατάς τέτοια πράγματα.
Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!