Benatina lake

in #walkwithme4 years ago (edited)

You might already know that this is my first Easter ever in Switzerland and it's not by choice. My travel to Slovakia was booked 2 months ago and cancelled last month. At least, I was able to get all my money back.

Of course, I would be happy to be at home now but not everything is that bad. I have never talked to my family this much before. We don't talk that much even when I'm physically there, so this is one cookie point in the quarantine time.

I have also planned my Easter lunch already and will start preparing it tomorrow. It's going to be different than at home as I don't get certain brands here but it's going to be delicious anyway. And if the weather permits, we will enjoy it on the balcony which is another cookie point! (The balcony that we have in Slovakia is not that big)

I'm trying hard to stay positive!

DSC_0001.jpg

Earlier today, my mom told me that she'll be going with my siblings to the Benatina lake. It's about 1 hour drive from my home town (very close to the border with Ukraine) and usually deserted in April as it's located in the place which is not densely populated and tourists usually come in summer. I hope that there won't be that many people today either.

I can't be there with them today, and therefore I have decided to go through my photos and enjoy this beautiful location at least virtually.

It's one of my favorite places as it reminds me of the Mediterranean. The turquoise-crystal clear water reminds you of the sea and the steep cliffs surrounding the lakes can easily make you feel like you were in Croatia.

The lake used to be a travertine quarry which was flooded by the ground water and created this beautiful place. It is the easternmost travertine location in Slovakia.

You can walk around the lake but you have to be careful as the path is very close to the edge of the cliff.

It is forbidden to swim in the lake, but many people can't resist and take a dip. The water is ice cold as it's quite deep and the summer is not long enough to heat it up, so I wouldn't probably do it.

I'm also not sure what would be the fine but I can imagine that it wouldn't be cheap.

Last time that we visited Benatina lake was 2 years ago in summer. We didn't spend much time there as we saw many storm clouds approaching us and didn't want to get caught in the middle of the storm with no shelter to hide.

We still managed to collect some blueberries on the way - priorities! I remember it like it was yesterday - these are those little pleasures that you can't forget...

It's one of the most beautiful places that I have ever visited. There are more travertine lakes around Slovakia, but this is my favorite. I might be biased as it's in my region but if you get a chance you should definitely visit it. You won't be disappointed.

We are not best at taking selfies but we try anyway 😊

20180513_151453.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed our visit of the lake Benatina!

Thank you for visiting!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Safe journeying to you @plantfuljourney … :>)