First day of this year

I can't remember when we had such warm winter for the last time. My hometown is in a mountainous region, so we get to see the snow when we go to the forest, but the town looks like it was preparing for spring instead of winter.

The temperature is unusually high, and I saw many trees waking up from their winter sleep which they actually didn't even have. I also don't feel comfortable in the forest this year as wild animals don't get to sleep deeply because it doesn't feel like winter, so there is a chance to come across a bear in the woods.

At school, we learned so much about how to react when this happens, but I have no idea how I would actually react in such situation, so I'm doing my best to avoid it. We stay in areas close to the houses and talk loudly to let the wild know that we're approaching.

Today, I'm not going to show you much of my hometown as it's a typical soviet architecture and therefore not very interesting, but I will show you some nature instead. We will stay in the town and look for some contrasts.

Our walk starts here. You can see that we had a cloudy and rainy start of the year. But it didn't keep us inside as it's important to start the year actively.

DSC_8376.jpg

We walked through a quiet residential area and here I found many contrasts that I was looking for.

2.jpg

First of them is this pink flower that we normally get to enjoy in April. This year it's a little too early and I'm afraid that it will freeze as soon as the temperature drops a little bit. It was a strange feeling to see it, kind of confusing.

2a.jpg

The trees are about to bloom. I wonder what impact it will have on the harvest in summer...

2b.jpg

The grass is still green and we could see these yellow flowers at many spots. Soon, they will be covered with the snow.

2c.jpg

And here we come to the world of winter. Some roses were not cut last year and dried up on their stems.

3.jpg

They were still pink!

4.jpg

We could still see bright autumn colors. I like that not everything is brown.

5.jpg

6.jpg

Look at this pink!

7.jpg

This little thing was about 1 cm big. I have no idea what it is though.

DSC_8330.jpg

I always feel sad when I see that some fruits stayed outside and were not harvested. I'm sure that these grapes were delicious in autumn.

DSC_8332.jpg

Here we have some typical pine tree.

DSC_8336.jpg

There was some brown on the way too...

DSC_8340.jpg

DSC_8351.jpg

And rose-hips..

DSC_8353.jpg

DSC_8358.jpg

You can see that there is a fence on most of the photos. That's because we were in the residential area.

DSC_8360.jpg

You would not expect that a brown leaf could be so bright in the see of green...

DSC_8363.jpg

On the way back we crossed the same river..

1.jpg

And just to give you an idea about the town, here is a photo of a sculpture that is dedicated to one handicapped sportsman who is originally from my hometown and behind the sculpture you can see the typical architecture.

DSC_8382.jpg

I hope you had an active first day of the year too!

Thank you for visiting!

Cheers!