Got Myself a Personal Weather Station

in #weather4 years ago

Yesterday my own personal weather station arrived and today I installed it on the roof.
Like several others, you might ask but why in the hell would you need it. The answer to this is: I don't. BUT, I'm a weather freak and I like to see real-time information from the exact place not estimates that are calculated in a big weather station 10 kilometers away. The weather might be pretty different even 10kms away.

This is it.
I cut the old useless antenna in half and attached the weather station to it.

IMG_20201017_142232.jpg

This one is Ambient Weather WS-2902 and is a real bang for the buck. I didn't want to cheap out and get a low-quality one made with shit plastic but also I didn't want to spend 700 on a weather station. So the one I bought cost 200EUR and even features some of the instruments usually only expensive ones have, it is also made of quality plastic and components that withstand harsh conditions.

What does it measure?

IMG_20201017_142248.jpg

Temperature( obviously ) also wind chill and dew point, with solar radiation shield. So it is accurate even in direct sunlight. + indoors temp.
Air pressure, absolute and relative.
Wind direction
Wind speed and gusts
Humidity + indoors humidity
Precipitation
UV
Solar radiation( electromagnetic )

The last two instruments usually only on more expensive stations.
All this is powered by an equipped solar panel. It also needs AA batteries in case of backup power when there isn't enough juice in the dark times.

The information is sent to a console inside after every 15 seconds via radio waves.

IMG_20201017_150358.jpg

You can see a section for clock and date, in addition, it shows the moon phase.

It also predicts weather but that starts to work correctly after about a month of collected readings. On the console, I can also see min and max readings and different time interval readings.

Pretty cool eh? I am pretty happy about the buy.

The console is also connected to WIFI and broadcasts the information to the internet. So I can see all the info and statistics everywhere. Right now I have connected it to the weather underground and weathercloud.