Wednesday Walk - Blazing My Own Trail to Get the Shots

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

I went out for my daily hike this morning and took a trail where yesterday I saw a new little waterfall that I hadn’t previously photographed. My favorite shot for this #wednesdaywalk was one of some pink wildflowers in the foreground and with a depth of field that blurred out the waterfalls in the background.

CE3D648B-591B-43A6-ABB7-36C11780F5D4.jpeg

It was a little ways off the Ridge Trail in Patapsco Valley State Park so I hadn’t noticed it in the past. I had to bushwack down The embankment a bit to get to this site, but it has some potential. Returning in the evening would put the sun on the other side of the ridge and offer better light for shooting.

6ACBB2E5-C2D4-4A50-953B-F2E9384389C1.jpeg

In these shots I toned down the light considerably in the editing process in Affinity photo. I’ve found a tool in Affinity Photo that allows you to easily add graduated filters or paint areas where you want to bring down exposure and highlights. It is great to be able to do this in post as it prevents me from having to carry more camera filters out on the trail. My pack is already pretty heavy for my old knees.

4C43C8E3-DC44-4B3E-B7F6-FD8A9A0A9477.jpeg

Below is the only shot where no amount of post processing could get the exposure down to where I would have liked it. I did a lot of burning on the upper right had corner and it has almost grayed that area out.

90090F76-836E-483D-8B78-6E2C4A7005DE.jpeg

Thanks to @tattoodjay for conceiving and supporting the #wednesdaywalk photo challenge.
Here’s a link to his walk this week.
https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@tattoodjay/wednesday-walk-challenge-mondo-ponds-and-sbi-give-away

53C5997A-C54A-402E-AF79-C0AA41C6BED5.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a cool spot to find on your walk such a beautiful area all such beautiful shots but that first one with the flowers is especially beautiful

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thanks!

Most welcome :)

🎁 Hi @dabeckster! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Beautiful :) Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Appreciate the explanation of your process. I also do quite a bit of pre-shot editing. I wonder if I should explain or let it remain a mystery. My faves are the first and third shot.

I go with the general assumption that a lot of Steemit photographers are beginners like me, so the explanation may help someone else. I’m also a big fan of Affinity Photo as a powerful, but less expensive alternative to Lightroom and Photoshop, so I try to include that as well. If you want to see an amazing demonstration of Composite photo editing using Affinity, check out Bethany Acorn on YouTube. She does amazing work.

Thanks for your comment!

Hello @dabeckster
i like first photograph most..
beautiful small plant. nice flower.. thanks for share with us..

Very beautiful nature trail!

Posted using Partiko iOS